Postal Address: JM Gutierrez 3829,1425 Buenos Aires,Argentina
Telephone & Fax: + 54 11 4816 4783 / 4780 and + 54 11 4816 3569
General enquiry email: admin@cricketargentina.com
Website: www.cricketargentina.com


Argentina first played international cricket in 1868, against Uruguay, while international competition against Brazil dates back to 1888, and against Chile to 1893, this encounter famous for the Argentine team taking three and a half days to reach Santiago in Chile, crossing the Andes by mule. In 1891, the famous annual three-day North v South fixture was played for the very first time, and is still today a highlight of the domestic calendar. The first league competition was held in 1897.
The Argentine Cricket Association was founded in 1913, and will celebrate its centenary in 2013. 1900 to 1939 are considered the golden years where cricket reached a high standard, many players reaching English county level. Argentina played first-class matches between 1911 and 1938. Unfortunately the sport went into decline after World War II, until Argentina became an Associate Member of the ICC in 1974, and took part in its first ICC Trophy in 1979.

International Competition

A solid performance at the 2001 ICC Trophy in Canada ensured the world took note of Argentina's cricket potential, especially a stunning victory over Malaysia. The team's success at the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 3 in Darwin, Australia in 2007 thrust this relatively unknown team further into the limelight, and although results have not been as positive since then in the higher reaches of Associate cricket, including a relegation campaign when hosting World Cricket League Division 3 in 2009 - Argentina is far and away the leading cricket nation in Latin America. Prior to the WCL Division 3 Series success of 2007, the Argentine national team won the ICC Americas Division 2 Tournament in 2006. Argentina and Argentina "A" teams have traditionally been a force at South American Championships and it also maintained its status in the top-flight of a tough Americas Division One section, that also features the likes of Canada and USA - during the latest tournament that took place from 27 May to 7 June 2010 in Bermuda. 

Domestic Competition

The domestic competition in Argentina runs from late October to early April every year. The first part of the year is dedicated to the schools leagues and festivals. Senior cricket consists of the Development Cup, Third Division Championship, Second Division Championship and Saturday Championship (played by Second Division teams) for lower leagues, while at premier league level there is the Robin Stuart Shield, a Twenty20 league and the First Division Championship. A Women's First Division Championship was played for the first time in 2008.The junior leagues are played by schools and clubs, at U15 and U19 levels, and for the first time U13 leagues were played over the winter in 2008. An U11 league will begin in the winter of 2009. The annual North v South three-day match is a domestic highlight, and was played for the 110th time in March, 2009. Argentina also receives a number of visiting teams on an annual basis, who compete against local clubs, schools and representative teams.

Development Programme

Argentina's development programme looks to give opportunities and competition to every age group in the country, both domestically and internationally. The winter months include U13 and U11 leagues for boys and girls. There ia are also an annual South American U13 championship since 2009. In 2014 a Southamerican U16 Championship will also be introduced.

Education and awareness is an important component, and coaching, umpiring and scoring courses are held in clubs and schools on a regular basis. There are also annual academies held in school vacations for various age groups targeting the most talented juniors in the local game. The ACA is also aware of its social responsibility, and a number of projects are taking place in underprivileged areas, giving young children the opportunity to play cricket.

Women's Cricket

The roots of Argentine women's cricket go back to an U15 girls tour to New Zealand in 2000, and today there is a Women's First Division competition as a direct result of that. Argentina proudly took part in the first-ever Americas Women's Championship in 2007, and have played home and away T20 series against the emerging Brazil team. In 2009, Argentina took part in the second Americas Women's Championship, as well as sending a development team to Chile to assist the growth of women's cricket there. Junior girls leagues with schools and clubs are run too. The Flamingos have won every edition of the Southamerican Championship unbeaten. They are one of the top sides in the region.