Main switchboard + 255 22 213 0037
General enquiry email: zully.rehemtulla@tanzaniacricket.com
Website: www.tanzaniacricket.com/a>


The Tanzania Cricket Association came into existence immediately after independence in 1961. It was formerly known as Tanganyika Cricket Association. The existence of the association dates back to 1946 when the three colonial countries of East Africa were bound together with Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika, making the East African Cricket Conference. Cricket in Tanzania dates back to 1890, in Zanzibar where the first official fixture was played.

The game of cricket in Tanzania was introduced by the British Settlers way back in the late 1800s. The earliest recorded games took place in the Island of Zanzibar between the British Settlers and the British Navy.

In Mainland Tanganyika, the first cricket match recorded was in 1913, and for over 70 years, the three East African countries were involved in the inter-territorial games - i.e. between Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika.

Various visits by Indian, Pakistani and MCC Cricket sides to Tanzania have always been a feature of Tanzania's international exposure. World-class cricketers like M.A.K. Pataudi, V.V. Kumar, G.R. Vishwanath, Hanif Mohammad, Eknath Solkar, A.H. Kardar, Kapil Dev, Anshuman Gaekwad, Karsan Ghavri, Syed Kirmani, Ghulam Parkar and others played cricket with Tanzanian teams. Ugandan and Kenyan youth teams frequently tour Tanzania, under the East African Cooperation platform.

In Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam, the game could be traced back to early 1890 before the first World War.

Competitive cricket in Dar es Salaam began in 1923 when the Satchu Pira Brothers presented the Dar es Salaam Cricket League with a trophy called the Satchu Pira Shield for a league competition. In 1933, the Directors of Karimjee Jivanjee presented a cup known as the KJ Cup for competition on a knockout basis.

In 1933, the Dar es Salaam Cricket League decided that the time had arrived to form a governing body to foster and control cricket in Dar es Salaam and at a preliminary meeting, appointed a committee to work out the details and frame rules.

On 20 March, 1935, a meeting attended by representative of all cricket clubs adopted the committee report, passed the rules and the Dar es Salaam Cricket Association came into being. G. J. Patrige was elected President and P. E. Mitchell, the acting Governor, kindly consented to become the first patron of the Association. It has since become a tradition for the Governor of the Territory to be the Patron of the Association.

From the inception the association has been handicapped by not having a ground of its own and has had to rely on the courtesy of ground-owning clubs for the use of their facilities for competition matches. As a result of the war, no competition was held during the years 1943 -1945.

In 1946, competition cricket resumed again. Most of the founder members of DCA underwent changes of structure within their communities and new teams emerged as sports wings of their respective communities.

After the nationalization of the Banks and Houses by the Government in 1971, many cricketers of Indian and British origin migrated from the country and left a gap in the game. But since the mid-1970s, the game has been played well and the new generation of sportsmen lured to the game and with new clubs formed.

In Arusha, cricket history dates back in late 1960s with a few games played from time to time. It is only after 1985 that a proper set up has been in place and structured cricket leagues have been played.


Dar es Salaam has four cricket grounds with a players pavilion at Anadil Burhani Club, Dar es Salaam Gymkhana Club, Leader's Club and Dar es Salaam University College. All the four grounds have been upgraded from artificial astro turf wickets to turf wickets.

Due consideration has also been given to upgrading cricket grounds in Tanga, Arusha Mwanza.


The current Tanzania team is probably the youngest team the country has ever had, which seems to augur well for a very bright future. In 2006, Tanzania hosted ICC Africa Division 3, featuring teams from Botswana, Mozambique, Zambia and Nigeria. Tanzania emerged as winners of the event. Then, in April 2007, Tanzania traveled to Mumbai, India for a series of friendly games with local clubs. Tanzania is due to compete in the next regional Division One tournament alongside Botswana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Tanzania and Uganda.

The side also participates in the Pepsi ICC World Cricket League, hosting the Division 4 event in 2008 and finishing fourth to maintain its status for the next tournament in August 2010.

Domestic Competition

The domestic competition in Tanzania runs from June to April every year. Senior cricket consists of tournaments organised by Dar es Salaam Regional Cricket Committee in Dar es Salaam region and Arusha Regional Cricket Committee in Arusha.

Development program

Tanzania has a sound ongoing national development programme for juniors at grassroots that started in the year 2000. It has attracted a lot of youths of both genders towards the game. Today, cricket is played in many primary and secondary schools. The TCA development committee annually organises a modified game for juniors popularly known as 'Chanzo' Cricket festivals played with a soft ball involving 20 primary schools in all regions involved in the programme.

Twenty20 and 30-over structured eleven-a-side leagues are played with a hard ball for juniors - involving primary and secondary schools - is played twice a year for both genders, from which every year some 60 youths are selected and promoted to attend elite training at the Muhimbili Cricket Academy, to learn the right basics and skills of the game, which eventually broadens and strengthens the pyramid base.

Women's Cricket

Tanzania has a produced good girls national teams of different age groups that are selected from the ongoing girls junior structured leagues. Tanzania has been participating in the annual East Africa women's tournament and sustained its championship title for seven years until being beaten by Uganda in December. It has fared less well since then, winning just one game in the subsequent two tournaments. Tanzania was runners up in the 2009 ICC Women's World Cup Qualifying for the Africa region after losing to Zimbabwe.