ICC Live

In focus

Buy Tickets for 2017 - 300x250

Preliminary Australia squad for ICC Champions Trophy announced

The Australian Cricket's National Selection Panel announced the list of 30 probables for the Champions Trophy Squad to be held in South Africa

Preliminary Australia squad for ICC Champions Trophy announced - Cricket News
Ricky Ponting setting field in a match.
Cricket Australia's National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced a preliminary 30-man Australia squad to contest the ICC Champions Trophy from 22 September - 5 October in South Africa this year.

The preliminary squad is:
Ricky Ponting (c) TAS
Michael Clarke (vc) NSW
Doug Bollinger NSW
Nathan Bracken NSW
Callum Ferguson SA
Brett Geeves TAS
Brad Haddin NSW
Ryan Harris QLD
Nathan Hauritz NSW
Moises Henriques NSW
Ben Hilfenhaus TAS
Jon Holland VIC
James Hopes QLD
Phillip Hughes NSW
David Hussey VIC
Mike Hussey WA
Mitchell Johnson WA
Jason Krejza TAS
Brett Lee NSW
Shaun Marsh WA
Andrew McDonald VIC
Clinton McKay VIC
Marcus North WA
Tim Paine TAS
Peter Siddle VIC
Shaun Tait SA
Adam Voges WA
David Warner NSW
Shane Watson NSW
Cameron White VIC

Commenting on the preliminary squad, NSP Chairman Andrew Hilditch said:

"The NSP is very pleased with the squad of 30 for the ICC Champions Trophy. The squad will be trimmed to 15 next month as we finalise our preparation for Australia's defence of the trophy."

"The Australian side is currently in a rebuilding phase as we prepare for the 2011 ICC World Cup, following the loss of so many important players from the 2007 World Cup-winning team.

"The ICC Champions Trophy is a key event in international cricket and a very important one for Australia as we look to lift our one-day international performances in our bid to retain this trophy.

"The squad recognises the performances of our proven one-day international players, the strong performance of the Australia A side in the recent one-day series against Pakistan A and the performances of our interstate players in the Ford Ranger Cup.

"The squad sees the inclusion of several exciting young players who we see as potentially very important to our future including Phillip Hughes, Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques, Jon Holland, Tim Paine and Clinton McKay."

Similar Articles