ICC Live

In focus

Buy Tickets for 2017 - 300x250

England name squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2009

The ECB announced the 30 man squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy which is to held in South Africa

England name squad for ICC Champions Trophy 2009 - Cricket News
England Cricket Team celebrates during an ODI.
The England selectors have named England's 30-man preliminary squad for the ICC Champions Trophy 2009 to be staged in South Africa in September.

The squad, which is to be reduced to 15 players by August 23, sees Hampshire's Michael Lumb as the only player uncapped at international level.

ECB National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: "The ICC Champions Trophy is an opportunity for the England One-Day side to compete for a global trophy and we are confident we have the talent to make a strong claim.

"We have an exciting blend of youth and experience in this preliminary squad and we'll continue to watch the limited overs form of all players involved over the coming month.

"With the exception of Hampshire's Michael Lumb, who has been in excellent form for his county this year, each member of this preliminary squad has experienced playing for England on the international stage. It is pleasing to see such genuine competition for places as we look to half the squad later next month."

England 30-man ICC Champions Trophy Squad
1. Andrew Strauss (Middlesex)
2. James Anderson (Lancashire)
3. Gareth Batty (Worcestershire)
4. Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
5. Ravi Bopara (Essex)
6. Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
7. Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
8. Paul Collingwood (Durham)
9. Alastair Cook (Essex)
10. Steve Davies (Worcestershire)
11. Joe Denly (Kent)
12. Andrew Flintoff (Lancashire)
13. James Foster (Essex)
14. Stephen Harmison (Durham)
15. Ed Joyce (Sussex)
16. Rob Key (Kent)
17. Michael Lumb (Hampshire)
18. Sajid Mahmood (Lancashire)
19. Dimitri Mascarenhas (Hampshire)
20. Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
21. Graham Napier (Essex)
22. Graham Onions (Durham)
23. Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire)
24. Matt Prior (Sussex)
25. Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
26. Owais Shah (Middlesex)
27. Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire)
28. Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
29. Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)
30. Luke Wright (Sussex)

Similar Articles