ICC Live

In focus

Buy Tickets for 2017 - 300x250

Australia names squad for ICC Champions Trophy

The National Selection Panel of Australia today announced a new look 15 member squad that will take part in the upcoming Champions Trophy

Australia names squad for ICC Champions Trophy - Cricket News
Ricky Ponting plays a shot during an ODI.
Cricket Australia's National Selection Panel announced on Saturday the 15-man Australia squad to contest the ICC Champions Trophy from 22 September - 5 October in South Africa this year.

The Australia squad for the ICC Champions Trophy is:  

Name State Age
Ricky Ponting (captain) TAS 34
Michael Clarke (vice-captain) NSW 28
Nathan Bracken NSW 31
Callum Ferguson SA 24
Brad Haddin NSW 31
Nathan Hauritz NSW 27
Ben Hilfenhaus TAS 26
James Hopes QLD 30
Michael Hussey WA 34
Mitchell Johnson WA 27
Brett Lee NSW 32
Peter Siddle VIC 24
Adam Voges WA 29
Shane Watson NSW 28
Cameron White VIC 25

Commenting on the ICC Champions Trophy squad, NSP Chairman Andrew Hilditch said: "The NSP has selected a squad for the Champions Trophy which is similar to squad assembling in the UK to play against England.

"The Champions Trophy is a key event on ICC's cricket calendar and is a good opportunity for us to see how this new-look Australian one-day squad goes in its bid to retain the Trophy. 

"The one-day team hasn't played in a major tournament since the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup and this will be a good chance to see where we are at.

"The team is in a rebuilding phase and we look forward to seeing how this squad goes in England and South Africa as we prepare for the 2011 ICC World Cup in the subcontinent."

Similar Articles