ICC Live

In focus

Buy Tickets for 2017 - 300x250

India’s Dhawan named player of the tournament

Opener Shikhar Dhawan was named player of the ICC Champions Trophy 2013 after his run-fest in the ICC Champions Trophy 2013

India’s Dhawan named player of the tournament - Cricket News
Shikhar Dhawan of India with the Golden Bat.
Dhawan showed tremendous consistency with the bat and ended the tournament with 363 runs from five matches, including two centuries and one half-century. He averaged a staggering 90.75 with the bat at a stunning strike-rate of 101.39.  

Dhawan announced his arrival on the global stage when he clubbed 12 fours and a six in his 94-ball 114 that helped India beat South Africa by 26 runs in the tournament opener in Cardiff. The 26-year old then hit an unbeaten 102 off 107 balls with 10 fours and a six in India’s eight wickets victory over the West Indies.  

His successive centuries made him the first batsman in the history of the tournament to score back-to-back centuries.  

Dhawan continued his fairy-tale run when he scored less than a run-a-ball 48 in India’s eight wickets victory over Pakistan, and then scored a 92-ball 68 to ensure India romped to a comfortable eight wickets victory over Sri Lanka in the second semi-final in Cardiff.  

In the final against England, Dhawan scored 31 off 24 balls to help India to victory by five runs.  

Dhawan, in association with Rohit Sharma, also featured in two century and two half-century opening wicket partnerships.  

Dhawan was selected as the Player of the Tournament by a five-person selection panel that comprised Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket, and Chairman Event Technical Committee), Javagal Srinath (former India fast bowler and ICC elite panel match referee), Aleem Dar (ICC elite panel umpire), Scyld Berry (Wisden Editor from 2008-2011 and Sunday Telegraph correspondent) and Stephen Brenkley (correspondent of The Independent and Independent On Sunday).  

Past winners:  
1998 – Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
2000 – Not awarded
2002 – Not awarded
2004 – Ramnaresh Sarwan (West Indies)
2006 – Chris Gayle (West Indies)
2009 – Ricky Ponting (Australia)
2013 – Shikhar Dhawan (India)  

Similar Articles