powered by

14 December 201020:02

CSA names preliminary CWC squad

The squad includes four uncapped players in Jonathan Vandiar, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar and Ethy Mbhalati

CSA names preliminary CWC squad
 - Cricket News

Jacques Rudolph finds himself back in the team for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced on Tuesday the preliminary squad of 30 players for the 2011 ICC World Cup on the Asian sub-continent.

The squad includes four uncapped players in bizhub Highveld Lions batsman Jonathan Vandiar, all-rounders Faf du Plessis from the Nashua Titans and Dean Elgar from the Chevrolet Knights, and seamer Ethy Mbhalati from the Nashua Titans.

There are also recalls for Nashua Titans batsman Jacques Rudolph and Chevrolet Knights all-rounder Johannes van der Wath. Both have been ineligible for the past few years after signing Kolpak deals in the England county championship but have now renounced that status. Another player back in favour is Chevrolet Knights captain Morne van Wyk.

A final squad of 15 for the World Cup will be announced in due course as well as the squad for the ODI series against India. The selectors are not restricted to the squad of 30 in naming their final group for the World Cup.

"We indicated at the start of the season that we would reward players who performed well in domestic cricket," commented selection convener Andrew Hudson. "There have been some highly impressive performances in the MTN40 and this has opened the door of opportunity for the likes of Faf du Plessis, Jonathan Vandiar, Ethy Mbhalati and Morne van Wyk among others."

Preliminary squad: Graeme Smith (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Hashim Amla (Nashua Dolphins), Jacques Kallis (Chevrolet Warriors), AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans), Alviro Petersen (bizhub Highveld Lions), Loots Bosman (Nashua Dolphins), Jacques Rudolph (Nashua Titans), Morne van Wyk (Chevrolet Knights), Jonathan Vandiar (bizhub Highveld Lions), JP Duminy (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), David Miller (Nashua Dolphins), Colin Ingram (Chevrolet Warriors), Albie Morkel (Nashua Titans), Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Mark Boucher (Chevrolet Warriors), Thami Tsolekile (bizhub Highveld Lions), Faf du Plessis (Nashua Titans), Dean Elgar (Chevrolet Knights), Heino Kuhn (Nashua Titans), Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans), Dale Steyn (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Chevrolet Warriors), Johan Botha (Chevrolet Warriors), Ryan McLaren (Chevrolet Knights), Charl Langeveldt (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Rusty Theron (Chevrolet Warriors), Ethy Mbhalati (Nashua Titans), Roelof van der Merwe (Nashua Titans), Johannes van der Wath (Chevrolet Knights).