powered by

19 December 201020:48

Kenya announces provisional CWC 2011 squad

A final squad of 15 players will be chosen before 19 January 2011

Kenya announces provisional CWC 2011 squad
 - Cricket News

Steve Tikolo will lend experience to Kenya's World Cup squad.

Cricket Kenya has named a provisional 30 man squad to participate in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 to be held in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. A final squad of 15 players will be chosen before 19 January 2011.

National Coach Eldine Baptiste was very pleased with the make-up of the squad.

"I am very pleased with the squad we have been able to name, we have a good blend of experienced players and some very exciting youngsters who have emerged over the last 12 months. There is still time for any one of these 30 players to force his way into the final 15 man squad that will travel to the World Cup. Maybe a year ago we would have struggled to find 30 names that were worthy of consideration for a World event but what is really encouraging is how many young players have come through our A team and Under 19 squad in the last year and there are quite a few more who were unlucky not to make this list," said Baptiste.

Squad: Ragheb Aga, Duncan Allen, RunishGudhka, Jimmy Kamande, Irfan Karim, Karan Kaul, Peter Kituku, Alfred Luseno, Tamnay Mishra, James Ngoche, Shem Ngoche, Alex Obanda, David Obuya, Collins Obuya, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Nelson Odhiambo, Thomas Odoyo, Lucas Oluoch, Peter Ongondo, Joseph Onyango, LameckOnyango, Elijah Otieno, Morris Ouma, Ken Owino, Rakep Patel, VinitShikotra, Steve Tikolo, HirenVaraiya, Seren Waters, Dominic Wesonga.