powered by

07 September 201022:00

Classic ODI matches at CWC 2011 venues - Colombo

Our list of five classic matches at R Premadasa Stadium over the years

Classic ODI matches at CWC 2011 venues - Colombo - Cricket News

Muttiah Muralitharan of Sri Lanka.

The R Premadasa Stadium will host both a quarter-final and semi-final in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

Here we look back at five classic ODIs to have been held in the Colombo venue.

Kiwis make instant impact

The first scheduled ODI to be played at the Colombo venue in March 1986 between Sri Lanka and Pakistan was abandoned without a ball being bowled due to rain.

As a result, Sri Lanka's hosting of New Zealand the following month brought the first ODI action to the venue. Sri Lanka's 137-9 in a match reduced to 43-overs-per-side was insubstantial as the Kiwis reached their target by six wickets with 40 balls to spare.

New Zealand pace bowler Willie Watson took the man-of-the-match award for his 3-15 off nine overs.

India turn it around

A disastrous batting collapse saw an inevitable victory for Sri Lanka turn into a one-run win for India in the opening match of a three-match series in July and August 1993.

India failed to capitalise on an opening stand of 77 as they made 212-8 from their 50 overs.

Chandika Hathurusingha (64) and Aravinda de Silva (62) took the hosts to 161-2 before the last eight wickets fell for the addition of just 50 runs.

With two runs needed from five balls, Manoj Prabhakar claimed the final wicket to complete an incredible turnaround.

Aussies no match for hosts

Sri Lanka thrashed Australia by seven wickets to reach the final of the ICC Champions Trophy in September 2002.

The hosts turned in an outstanding fielding display as Australia were bowled out for 162 with eight balls of their 50-over allocation left unused.

Muttiah Muralidaran was his team's leading wicket-taker with 3-26. Special mention should also go to Aravinda de Silva who returned figures of 10-2-16-1.

Sri Lanka's top order ensured there were to be no slips as victory was completed with 10 overs remaining.

Unfortunately the weather would have the final say in the ICC Champions Trophy as the decider with India was twice abandoned due to rain.

Jayasuriya century not enough

India won a thrilling encounter against Sri Lanka by four runs in the Asia Cup in July 2004.

Virender Sehwag (81) and Sourav Ganguly (79) put on 134 for the second wicket as India made 271-6 from their 50 overs.

Sanath Jayasuriya (130) looked on course to steer the hosts to victory until, with 18 runs needed off 18 balls, he became Sehwag's third victim.

Sri Lanka's challenge fell away thereafter as the 11 runs needed from the last over were out of reach.

Sri Lanka get their own back

Sri Lanka gained revenge for its earlier narrow defeat at the hands of India when it defeated the same opposition in the Asia Cup final of August 2004.

Marvan Atapattu (65) and Kumar Sangakkara (53) put on 116 for the third wicket but no other batsman reached more than 22 as Sri Lanka totaled 228-9 at the end of its 50 overs.

Sachin Tendulkar held firm in the reply but wickets fell around him from the outset. The opener's dismissal for 74 was a hammer blow for India although the run-rate had already careered to eight-an-over by that stage.

Sri Lanka's final margin of victory was a comfortable 25 runs with Upul Chandana taking 3-33.