powered by

17 December 201022:11

Australia name 30-man World Cup squad

The defending champions have named the provisional squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Australia name 30-man World Cup squad
 - Cricket News

Cricket Australia Chairman of Selectors Andrew Hilditch is hopeful the squad chosen will fetch Australia its fourth consecutive World Cup title.

Defending champions Australia have named its provisional squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

The Chairman of the National Selection Panel, Andrew Hilditch, said: "We've selected an initial squad for the World Cup with an array of world class one-day players, some of whom tasted success in the 2007 ICC Cricket World Cup tournament. Our form in one-day cricket over the last 15-months has been good and we are hopeful this group of players will be able to push for Australia's fourth successive ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy.

"There is blend of youth and experience in this extended group with exciting young talent like David Warner, Mitchell Starc, James Pattinson and Stephen O'Keefe all pushing for inclusion in the final fifteen. These players have some opportunity between now and January 19 to push for a spot in the final squad of fifteen.

"Australia is the reigning World Champion and also holds the ICC Champions Trophy in the 50-over game. We've selected an initial squad with conditions in India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in mind and expect this group to be equal to the challenge ahead."

Australia Squad: Ricky Ponting (c), Michael Clarke (vc), Doug Bollinger, Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, Callum Ferguson, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, John Hastings, Nathan Hauritz, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Andrew McDonald, Clint McKay, Stephen O'Keefe, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.