powered by

02 January 201100:56

Borren to lead Netherlands at ICC CWC 2011

The squad has been named before the January 19 deadline of the ICC as a number of the Dutch squad are not full time professionals

Borren to lead Netherlands at ICC CWC 2011
 - Cricket News

Peter Borren is all set to lead Netherlands in its ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 campaign.

Chairman of Netherlands selection pane; Darrin Murray named the fifteen man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 which will be held in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka from 19 February to 2 April.

The squad has been named before the January 19 deadline of the ICC as a number of the Dutch squad are not full time professionals and need to balance the cricket commitment with work.

Netherlands national selector Darrin Murray said: "We have selected a squad of players with a strong track record in limited overs cricket either for Netherlands or in the domestic game. Recent series have shown we have made progress in one-day cricket (defeating Bangladesh and Zimbabwe in 2010) and we will be looking to continue this form during the Cricket World Cup. The squad also includes three younger players (Barresi, Westdijk and Kruger) who have forced their way into the main squad during the year on the basis of their commitment to improve and results on the park. The selectors will continue to balance the inclusion of players based outside the Netherlands with developing local talent. During the 2010 calendar year a large number of local players have been provided with opportunities to force their way into the World Cup squad."

Mark and Maurits Jonkman were both not available for selection as they are going through a action re-modelling programme and there is insufficient time to complete this program before the start of the World Cup. They are making very good progress under the specialised coaching of Neil Killeen and are aiming for them to be part of our playing programme in the CB40 competition.

Nick Statham and Ruud Nijman were also unavailable for selection due to work commitments and injury. The three reserve players above have been placed on standby in case of injury.

The Netherlands has been drawn in a group alongside England (22/2 in Nagpur, India), West Indies (28/2 in Delhi, India), South Africa (3/3 Mohali, India), India (9/3 Delhi, India), Bangladesh (14/3 Chittagong, Bangladesh) and Ireland (18/3 Kolkata, India).

The team will play four warm-up games against Canada (6/2 Dubai), Zimbabwe (8/2 Dubai), Sri Lanka (12/2 Pallekele) and Kenya (15/2 Pallekele) before beginning their World Cup campaign against England in Nagpur, India.

Team: Peter Borren (captain), Wesley Baressi, Mudassar Bukhari, Atse Buurman, Tom Cooper, Tom de Grooth, Alexei Kervezee, Bradley Kruger, Bernard Loots, Adeel Raja, Pieter Seelaar, Eric Swarczynski, Ryan Ten Doeschate, Berend Westdijk, Bas Zuiderent.

Reserves: Tom Heggleman, Andrew Hoogstraten, Muhammad Kashif.