powered by

01 February 201412:30

Scotland beats UAE in qualifier final

Scotland to be in Pool A and UAE in Pool B at 2015 World Cup

Scotland beats UAE in qualifier final - Cricket News

Scotland cricket team celebrate winning the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier Grand Final.

A superb unbeaten 149-ball 139 from Preston Mommsen, its captain, helped Scotland script a comprehensive 41-run win over United Arab Emirates in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 Qualifier final on Saturday (February 1) at Bert Sutcliffe Oval in Lincoln.

Opting to bat, Scotland got off to a shaky start and was reduced to 37 for 3 by the seventh over. But Mommsen, who had scored 78, 94 and 46 in the last three matches, steadied the innings in collaboration with Freddie Coleman (31) with a 91-run stand. However, Coleman fell in the 26th over, bowled by Khurram Khan. In next, Richard Berrington smashed a 53-ball 63, and added a match-turning 138 for the fifth wicket with Mommsen in 22.2 overs.

With 44 runs coming in the last four overs, Scotland ended its innings on a strong 285 for 5.

Asanka Guruge was UAE’s best bowler, returning figures of 3 for 67.

In reply, UAE got off to a steady start, with openers Salman Faris and Amjad Ali putting up 49 runs in just under ten overs. Salman fell first, bowled by Rob Taylor, and UAE then lost Shaiman Anwar and Amjad in quick succession to be reduced to 73 for 3.

A lot depended on Khurram, the highest scorer in the tournament, but he had a rare average day in office, managing only a 53-ball 34.

Swapnil Patil and Rohan Mustafa did add 50 runs for the fifth wicket, but a rush of lower-order wickets meant UAE was left reeling at 177 for 8 in 41.4 overs. Patil top scored with a run-a-ball 99, smashing seven fours and two sixes along the way, and though he added 49 quick runs for the ninth wicket with Kamran Shazad, the overs ran out with UAE on 244 for 9.

Taylor, Iain Wardlaw and Safyaan Sharif picked up three wickets each for Scotland.

Mommsen was awarded the Man of the Match and Man of the Tournament for his 520 runs at an average of 86.66.

The win meant that Scotland joins India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Ireland in Pool A of World Cup next year, and UAE will be in Pool B with Australia, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan.

Pools for the 2015 World Cup

Pool A: Australia, New Zealand, England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and Scotland

Pool B: India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland and UAE