06 December 201419:06

England Announce Preliminary 30 Man World Cup Squad

England selectors today announced the following 30-man squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

England Announce Preliminary 30 Man World Cup Squad  - Cricket News

Many of the 2011 World Cup Squad are named

The 2011 quarter-finalists, England have named their Preliminary 30 Man Squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Captained by Alistair Cook, the squad had plenty of variety and several players returning from the 2011 event.

Nine players come back from the 2011 World Cup, including fast bowlers James Anderson, Stuart Broad and Tim Bresnan are all named, and look likely to spearhead an English attack with plenty of experience in Australian and New Zealand conditions.

Boyd Rankin is included after a strong season domestically with Warwickshire, although he hasn't played for England since the final match of the 2013/14 Ashes in Sydney. There are plenty of spin options as well with Moeen Ali, Stephen Parry, Samit Patel and Adil Rashid offering many different varities of spin.

There are also plenty of batting options for England who will be aiming to get to a first World Cup final since 1992 where Graham Gooch led his side to the final at the MCG.

Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt)
Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Gary Ballance (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Ravi Bopara (Essex)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Jack Brooks (Yorkshire)
Jos Buttler (Lancashire)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire)
Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)
Chris Jordan (Sussex)
Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)
Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
Stephen Parry (Lancashire)
Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire)
Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)
Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)
Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Jason Roy (Surrey)
Ben Stokes (Durham)
James Taylor (Nottinghamshire)
James Tredwell (Kent)
James Vince (Hampshire)
Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)
Luke Wright (Sussex)