powered by

05 June 201420:26

Mithun, Taskin in Bangladesh ODI squad

Rubel Hossain misses out as hosts name 15-man line-up to take on India in three-match series

Mithun, Taskin in Bangladesh ODI squad - Cricket News

Taskin Ahmed was included in Bangladesh's ODI squad

Mohammad Mithun, the 24-year-old wicketkeeper-batsman, and Taskin Ahmed, the 19-year-old paceman, were the new faces in the 15-man Bangladesh squad for the three-match One-Day International series against India starting in Mirpur on June 15. The second and third games will be played on June 17 and June 19.

Faruque Ahmed, chairman of the Bangladesh Cricket Board national selection panel, explained that some of the picks were done keeping in mind the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup. “We have kept more or less a settled squad but it is also important to get an idea about the kind of back up we have in our hands as we start preparing for the ICC World Cup in Australia-New Zealand,” he said.

“Mithun has been on our radar for a while. He has performed consistently in the limited-overs format and in the longer version as well during the last couple of years and deserves a chance at international level. Taskin is an exciting prospect and has already played a Twenty20 international. We thought it was a good opportunity to see how he performs in the 50-overs game in home conditions against some quality batsmen.”

One of the regular names to miss out was Rubel Hossain. “Al-Amin (Hossain) has bowled impressively since his debut and Mashrafe Mortaza is our most experienced campaigner. We also have a seam-bowling allrounder in Ziaur Rahman. Because of these pace options and squad balance Rubel Hossain misses out,” explained Faruque.

“The spin department is well covered with Abdur Razzak, Shakib Al Hasan and Sohag Gazi. Mahmudullah is also quite handy and can do a job for his captain.”

India, which named a second-string team for the series with many senior players opting to rest ahead of the tour of England, reaches Dhaka on June 13 and plays all the three day-night ODIs at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium.

The squad:
Mushfiqur Rahim (capt, wk), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Hoque Bijoy, Shamsur Rahman, Mominul Hoque, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafe Mortaza, Sohag Gazi, Ziaur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.