powered by

09 December 201419:53

UAE announces 30-man World Cup squad

Side is in Pool B and plays its first match against Zimbabwe on February 19

UAE announces 30-man World Cup squad - Cricket News

Ahmed Raza was named in UAE's 30-man squad.

The UAE selectors on Tuesday (December 9) named their provisional 30-man squad for the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup in New Zealand and Australia starting on February 14.

UAE is riding high on its recent success, having defeated Afghanistan 3-1 in the One-Day International series this month. The team secured two wins against Pakistan A in two unofficial one-dayers in October.

Khurram Khan, who amassed 270 runs in three matches to top the batting charts in the series against Afghanistan, will be crucial to its chances in the league stage of the World Cup.

UAE is drawn in Pool B along with South Africa, India, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Ireland. It plays its first match against Zimbabwe in Nelson on February 19.

UAE squad: Mohamed Tauqir, Salman Farooq, Fahad Alhasimi, Ahmed Raza, Amjad Javed, Andri Raffaelo, Rohit Singh, Yodhin Punja, Amjad Ali, Faizan Asif, Fayyaz Ahmed, Khurram Khan, Manjula Guruge, Muhammad Naveed, Nasir Aziz, Roshan Mustafa, Shaiman Anwar, Saqib Ali, Swapnil Patil, Chirag Suri, Ahsan Suri, Irfan Sajid, Noor ul Amin, Asadullah Shareef, Usman Mustaq, Muhammad Shahzad, Saqlain Haider, Kamran Shahzad, K Karate, Umair Ali