powered by

13 February 201515:51

2003 Cricket World Cup – In Numbers

As part of a daily series continuing the countdown to ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in Australia New Zealand, we look back at all 10 World Cups so far and their key numbers

2003 Cricket World Cup – In Numbers - Cricket News

Australia cruised to a dominant win in the final against India to successfully defend its title, and win its third World Cup overall.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2003 was held between February 9 and March 23 in South Africa and Zimbabwe. The eighth edition of the World Cup was also the first time it travelled to the African continent. This was the first time 14 teams were taking part in the event, and it retained the Super Sixes format which had been used in the previous edition, with the top three sides from two groups qualifying, followed by semi-finals and the final.

The ten Test playing nations, including newest entrant Bangladesh, qualified directly, while Kenya, who was given One-Day International status, was also granted automatic entry. Joining them were Netherlands, Namibia and Canada, who qualified through the 2001 ICC Trophy which was held in Canada.

Sachin Tendulkar ended the tournament with 673 runs – which remains a record tally in a single World Cup.

The tournament had its share of fairtytale triumphs, none more so than Kenya marching into the Super Sixes and from there, into the semi-finals – a run that included a historic 53-run win over Sri Lanka.

While India stopped Kenya’s run, Australia beat Sri Lanka in the other semi-final – made famous by Adam Gilchrist’s decision to walk.

In the final, a Ricky Ponting century meant Australia cruised to a dominant win to successfully defend its title, and win its third World Cup overall.

Matches: 54

Total Runs Scored: 20441

Total Wickets Taken: 734 wickets

Highest Run Scorers

Sachin Tendulkar (India) (673 runs in 11 matches)
Sourav Ganguly (India) (465 runs in 11 matches)
Ricky Ponting (Australia) (415 runs in 11 matches)
Adam Gilchrist (Australia) (408 runs in 10 matches)
Herschelle Gibbs (South Africa) (384 runs in 6 matches)

Highest Wicket Takers

Chaminda Vaas (Sri Lanka) (23 wickets in 10 matches)
Brett Lee (Australia) (22 wickets in 10 matches)
Glenn McGrath (Australia) (21 wickets in 11 matches)
Zaheer Khan (India) (18 wickets in 11 matches)
Shane Bond (New Zealand) (17 wickets in 8 matches)

Highest Scores

Craig Wishart (172 not out for Zimbabwe against Namibia in Harare)
Sachin Tendulkar (152 for India against Namibia in Pietermaritzburg)
Andrew Symonds (143 not out for Australia against Pakistan in Johannesburg)
Herschelle Gibbs (142 for South Africa against New Zealand in Johannesburg)
Scott Styris (141 for New Zealand against Sri Lanka in Bloemfontein)

Best Bowling Figures

Glenn McGrath (7 for 15 for Australia against Namibia in Potchefstroom)
Andy Bichel (7 for 20 for Australia against England in Port Elizabeth)

Ashish Nehra (6 for 23 for India against England in Durban)
Shane Bond (6 for 23 for New Zealand against Australia in Port Elizabeth)
Chaminda Vaas (6 for 25 for Sri Lanka against Bangladesh in Pietermaritzburg)