powered by

27 March 201518:16

Vote on the World Cup’s Greatest Moment from 1975 - 2011

ICC gives fans opportunity to determine the Greatest World Cup moment by voting on the final Top 10 short-list

Vote on the World Cup’s Greatest Moment from 1975 - 2011 - Cricket News

Have your say on the Greatest World Cup Moment from 1975 – 2011

Over the 100 days counting down to the beginning of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, ICC brought the fans a countdown of the 100 Greatest Moments in Cricket World Cup history powered by LG. The moments all came from the first ten Cricket World Cups from 1975 – 2011.

Fans read, watched and voted over the 100 days from November 6th until the eve of the tournament on February 13th and there is now a final short-list of the top 10 moments.

Now it’s the fans turn to vote one more time, and help decide the single greatest moment. Is it Captain Cool MS Dhoni, is it big Dwayne Leverock? Is it an old-time classic like Viv, or a modern moment like Kevin O'Brien, or is it that heart-stopping finish to the '99 Semi-Final at Headingley? Have your say on the Greatest World Cup Moment from 1975 – 2011 by casting your vote now!

100 Greatest World Cup Moments: Top 10 Shortlist

1979: Viv Richards leads West Indies to a consecutive Cricket World Cup title at Lord’s with a stunning century that helps the Caribbean Kings retain their title after winning the inaugural tournament in 1975.

1983: India wins their first ever Cricket World Cup title under leadership of Captain Kapil Dev with a stunning upset win over the hat-trick seeking West Indies

1992: Pakistan reigns supreme in 1992 on the back of Imran Khan and Wasim Akram as the 1992 World Cup is the first World Cup to be played in Australia and New Zealand

1996: Arjuna Ranatunga and Aravinda de Silva power Sri Lanka to World Cup glory in the biggest upset in the World Cup to date at the time, as they upset Australia in the final in Lahore.

1999: Australia and South Africa play out a dramatic last over tie in the semi-final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999 as Australia go through to a second consecutive final by the tightest of margins.

1999: Shane Warne spins Australia to its second World Cup crown as his 4 wicket spell helps to restrict Pakistan to just 132 as Australia romped to a 9 wicket win

2003: Collins Obuya leads Kenya to victory over Sri Lanka in Nairobi as the Kenyans spring a huge upset and an eventual semi-final spot in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2003.

2007: Bermuda’s Dewayne Leverock flies through the air to take one of the great World Cup catches against India and inspire

2011: Kevin O’Brien blazes the fastest century in World Cup history as Ireland chase down 327 to beat England in Bangalore in one of the greatest World Cup upsets of all-time

2011: India Captain MS Dhoni blasts a six to seal India’s first World Cup title in 28 years as his innings of 91 not out guides the co-hosts to their second world cup title.

Which moment do you think is the greatest? Vote now by clicking here as you have just 36 hours to vote for your favorite moment.

The vote will close ahead of the start of the ICC Cricket World Cup Final 2015 on Sunday 29th March when Australia take on New Zealand at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.