ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Nasser Hussain to host LG ICC Awards 2008

Former England captain Nasser Hussain will host the LG ICC Awards at a glittering ceremony in Dubai on Wednesday.

Nasser Hussain to host LG ICC Awards 2008 - Cricket News

Former England captain fronts cricket’s night of nights; broadcast will go to 100 countries and territories

SNTV to send out a video news release on the night of the ceremony

Former England captain Nasser Hussain will host the LG ICC Awards at a glittering ceremony in Dubai on Wednesday.

Hussain, an experienced and high-respected broadcaster with BSkyB in the United Kingdom since his retirement as a player in 2004, led his country in 45 of his 96 Tests and 56 of his 88 ODIs in an international career divning 15 years.

ESPN STAR Sports’ Alan Wilkins will work with Hussain during the evening as a reporter and interviewer, capturing the flavour of cricket’s night of nights when the world’s leading performers are recognised and honoured.

The LG ICC Awards is now in its fifth year but this is the first time the ceremony has taken place in the United Arab Emirates, the home of the ICC. The event will be broadcast all over the world, touching approximately 100 countries and territories.

The coverage, produced by the ICC’s broadcast and production partner ESPN STAR Sports, will be shown by the following broadcasters:



ESPN STAR Sports Indian sub-continent (satellite)
Pakistan Television Pakistan (terrestrial only)
Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation Sri Lanka (terrestrial only)
SuperSport South Africa and sub-Saharan Africa
Fox Sports Australia
BSkyB United Kingdom
Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC) Caribbean nations
ART Middle East and North Africa
ATN Canada
ESPN 360 USA (broadband)

For details of the timings of broadcasts* by each of the above broadcasters please go to:

Note: SNTV has confirmed it will be producing a video news release on the LG ICC Awards 2008 ceremony and sending it out on the night of 10 September.

Meanwhile, three players – Shivnarine Chanderpaul of the West Indies, Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardena and South Africa’s Dale Steyn – could enjoy a bumper night on Wednesday.

Each is nominated in both the Cricketer of the Year and Test Player of the Year categories in the LG ICC Awards 2008.
The other nominee for the Cricketer of the Year prize is South Africa captain Graeme Smith while his team-mate Jacques Kallis is a further nominee in the Test category.

None of the four players shortlisted for the Cricketer of the Year Award has previously lifted the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy so there is certain to be a new name to join the roll-call of winners.

Players who have secured the game’s top individual honour in the past are Rahul Dravid of India (2004), England’s Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis of South Africa (joint winners in 2005) and Australia captain Ricky Ponting (back-to-back winner in 2006 and 2007).

For a full list of the nominees, details of the how each award’s shortlist was arrived at and voted upon and other background on the LG ICC Awards, please go to:

Based on the 12 months between 9 August 2007 and 12 August 2008, the LG ICC Awards 2008 – presented in association with FICA – will take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game. That period includes the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 2007 in South Africa.

Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006) and Johannesburg (2007).


Similar Articles