ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

ICC to strengthen anti-corruption approach

ICC and its Member Boards agree to tighten approach to fighting corruption in international and domestic events

ICC to strengthen anti-corruption approach - Cricket News
ICC Annual Conference at Lords on June 28, 2013 in London, England.
The ICC Annual Conference 2013 concluded in London on Saturday with the ICC Board agreeing to strengthen the sport’s approach to fighting corruption. Key decisions from the meetings related to integrity issues included:

Enhanced anti-corruption protocols
The Chairman of the Anti-Corruption and Security Unit (ACSU), Sir Ronnie Flanagan, presented his annual report in a joint session that was attended by the ICC Board and the ICC Chief Executives’ Committee (CEC). The report included a number of recommendations for dealing with anti-corruption matters.
Reiterating its zero-tolerance approach to corruption, the ICC Board agreed to incorporate an enhanced set of principles for dealing with anti-corruption matters that includes a consistent framework for international and domestic anti-corruption rules, addresses the jurisdictional challenges and sets out principles to support mutual recognition of Member Board decisions/sanctions.
The ICC Board was also updated on the ongoing investigations by the ICC’s ACSU in respect of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2013. It was advised that further investigative work needed to be completed before any further action can be taken in this extremely important matter.
ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “The ICC has a zero-tolerance approach towards corruption and is committed to using all powers available to it to achieve and maintain the goal of a corruption-free sport.
“In the wake of recent events, the ICC and its Member Boards will further strengthen and tighten our Anti-Corruption Codes and other integrity regulations pertaining to international and domestic events and develop methods for better information sharing across jurisdictions.
“The ICC remains confident, but not complacent, that the vast majority of players, officials and administrators in international cricket uphold the best interests of the sport. But there continues to be a very small minority whose involvement with corrupt practices discredits themselves and their colleagues, and tarnishes the reputation of the sport itself.”
The ICC Board consists of the chairman or president from each of the 10 Full Members plus three elected Associate Member representatives. Also present at ICC Board meetings is the ICC President, who chairs proceedings, the ICC Chief Executive and the ICC Vice-President.
Alan Isaac                                                       ICC President
Mustafa Kamal                                               ICC Vice President
David Richardson                                           ICC Chief Executive
Dave Cameron                                                West Indies
Peter Chingoka                                               Zimbabwe
Giles Clarke                                                    England and Wales
Jayantha Dharmadasa                                     Sri Lanka
Wally Edwards                                               Australia
Jagmohan Dalmiya                                          India*
Nazmul Hassan                                               Bangladesh
Imran Khwaja                                                 Associate Member Representative
Chris Nenzani                                                 South Africa
Chris Moller                                                    New Zealand
Keith Oliver                                                    Associate Member Representative
Najam Sethi                                                    Pakistan (acting)
Neil Speight                                                    Associate Member Representative
The CEC comprises the Chief Executives of the 10 Full Member nations as well as three Associate Member representatives. Also present is the ICC Chief Executive who chairs the meeting and, by invitation, the ICC President and the chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee.
David Richardson                                           ICC Chief Executive (Chairman)
Alan Isaac                                                       ICC President (ex Officio)
Anil Kumble                                                   ICC Cricket Committee Chairman (ex Officio)
Intikhab Alam                                                 Pakistan*
Naasei Appiah                                                 South Africa
Nizam Uddin Chowdhury                              Bangladesh
Lindsay Crocker                                             New Zealand*
David Collier                                                  England and Wales
John Cribbin                                                    Associate Member Representative
Warren Deutrom                                             Associate Member Representative
Francois Erasmus                                            Associate Member Representative
Michael Muirhead                                           West Indies
Sanjay Patel                                                    India
Wilfred Mukondiwa                                       Zimbabwe 
Nishantha Ranatunga                                      Sri Lanka
James Sutherland                                            Australia
*denotes alternates
Note to Editors
The ICC annual report for 2012-2013 has been published and is available online here.