ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Root to open batting against Essex

The in-form right-hander has been promoted up the order after impressing in his limited opportunities so far

Root to open batting against Essex - Cricket News
Joe Root will step up the order and open the batting.
England selectors today named a 14-man squad to face Essex in a 4-day match commencing Sunday 30 June at The Essex County Ground, Chelmsford.  

Boyd Rankin is the only member of the squad yet to play for England in any format and joins five other pace bowlers in the squad; James Anderson, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Steven Finn and Graham Onions. Rankin, Onions and Kevin Pietersen are the only players selected who were not named in either squad to face New Zealand in the most recent Investec Test series. Joe Root will open the batting alongside England captain Alastair Cook.  

Geoff Miller, National Selector, said: “This match is a vital part of our preparations for the Investec Ashes after a period of limited overs cricket for a large number of the squad. We have a very exciting two months of Test cricket coming up and it is important that we start well at Chelmsford next week. Kevin Pietersen has had no complications following his recent return to cricket after a knee injury which is pleasing and Graeme Swann is recovering well from a calf injury.  

“We believe Joe Root is currently the best opening partner for Alastair Cook and he will open the batting against Essex. Joe has performed well for Yorkshire at the top of the order earlier this season and during his international career so far has proven to be very adaptable in all three formats and relished the challenge of international cricket.”  

England squad  

Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt) 
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire) 
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)  

Similar Articles