ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Bangladesh and New Zealand reach Plate Championship final

Bangladesh has won the Plate title in 1998, 2004 and 2010 and will face New Zealand on February 27 in the final

Bangladesh and New Zealand reach Plate Championship final - Cricket News
New Zealand beats UAE to progress to the Plate final.
Bangladesh and New Zealand reached the Plate Championship final in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2014 on Tuesday when they comfortably won their play-off matches.

Bangladesh, which has won the Plate title in 1998, 2004 and 2010, defeated Zimbabwe by 72 runs while New Zealand recorded an easy five wickets victory over the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The Plate Championship final will be played on Thursday at Zayed Cricket Stadium.

In the Super League fifth/sixth position semi-final, West Indies beat Afghanistan by the skin of its teeth by nine runs. The victory means the West Indies will take on India in the fifth/sixth position match at Sharjah Cricket Stadium and Afghanistan will play Sri Lanka in the seventh/eighth position match at ICC Academy 2 on Thursday.

The feature of the 12th day of the 16-day tournament was fine half-centuries by Mossadek Hossain and Joyraz Sheik of Bangladesh, Zimbabwe’s Luke Jongwe, Fabien Allen of the West Indies, Afghanistan’s Hashmatullah Shaidi and Shahidullah Kamal, and Ken McClure of New Zealand.

Mossadek scored a 66-ball 83 with six fours and a six while Joyraz hit five fours in an 89-ball 58 as Bangladesh scored 265 for six in 50 overs. Zimbabwe, in its run-chase, was restricted to 193 for nine with Luke Jongwe scoring 50.

McClure scored a 62 not out off 68 balls with seven fours and six to help New Zealand overhaul the UAE’s modest score of 140 with just under 20 overs and five wickets to spare.

In the West Indies-Afghanistan match, Allen scored 92 from 94 balls with eight fours and four sixes to lift his side to 215 after it had slipped to two for one and then 42 for four. Allen added 68 runs for the fifth wicket with Tristan Coleman (37) and 52 runs for the sixth wicket with Ramaal Lewis (27).

In turn, opener Shahidullah Kamal contributed 51 (67b, 5x4, 2x6) and Hashmatullah Shaidi scored 52 not out with four fours off 87 balls as Afghanistan was bowled out for 206 in 48 overs. Afghanistan had slipped to 97 for five but recovered to 204 for seven and at that stage required 12 runs for victory in 21 balls.

But Ray Jordan picked up two important scalps, finishing with three for 44 as Afghanistan lost its last three wickets in nine balls to be bowled out for 206 in 48 overs.

Scores in brief:

Super League 5th place play-off - West Indies beat Afghanistan by nine runs at ICC Academy 2

West Indies 215 all out, 49.2 overs (Fabien Allen 92, Tristan Coleman 37, Ramaal Lewis 27; Mohammad Mujtaba 3-36, Fareed Ahmed 3-37)
Afghanistan 206 all out, 48 overs (Hashmatullah Shaidi 52 not out, Shahidullah Kamal 51; Ray Jordan 3-44, Ramaal Lewis 2-38)

Plate Championship semi-final – Bangladesh beat Zimbabwe by 72 runs at Abu Dhabi Oval 1
Bangladesh 265-6, 50 overs (Mosaddek Hossain 83 not out, Joyraz Sheik 58, Litton Das 47, Shadman Islam 34; Patrick Mambo 2-55)
Zimbabwe 193-9, 50 overs (Luke Jongwe 50, Malcolm Lake 38, Deven Bell 30 not out; Mehedy Hasan 3-43, Mustafizur Rahman 2-19, Nihaduzzaman 2-23)

Plate Championship semi-final – New Zealand beat UAE by five wickets at Sheikh Zayed Stadium
UAE 140 all out, 49.2 overs (Moaaz Qazi 21; Josh Finni 2-5, Jeremy Benton 2-23)
New Zealand 141-5, 30.2 overs (Ken McClure 62 not out, Raki Weerasundara 30; Justin James 2-38)

Forthcoming matches:

*Australia-South Africa (Super League semi-final), Dubai International Cricket Stadium (match starts at 1200)
Namibia-Scotland (13th/14th position, play-off), Abu Dhabi Oval 1
Canada-Papua New Guinea (15th/16th position play-off), Abu Dhabi Oval 2

India v West Indies (5th/6th position play-off), Sharjah Cricket Stadium
Sri Lanka-Afghanistan (7th/8th position play-off), ICC Academy 2
New Zealand-Bangladesh (Plate Championship final), Zayed Cricket Stadium
UAE-Zimbabwe (11th/12th position play-off), Abu Dhabi Oval 1

England v loser of Aus-SA match (3rd/4th position play-off), ICC Academy 

*Pakistan v Aus-SA winner (Super League final), Dubai International Cricket Stadium (match starts at 1200)

*denotes broadcast matches

Similar Articles