ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Edwards, Johnson, Kumar, Mathews and Steyn nominated for LG People’s Choice Award

Winner to be announced in Dubai on 5 November

Edwards, Johnson, Kumar, Mathews and Steyn nominated for LG People’s Choice Award - Cricket News
Angelo Mathews is one of the players nominated for the LG People’s Choice Award.
Fans get chance to vote for their choice via www.lgiccawards.com and via Twitter using #lgiccawards
This year’s fifth LG People’s Choice Award sees five players from five different countries nominated to win the only award voted for by the public at the annual LG ICC Awards.
The quintet of players nominated for the award are England women’s captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, India fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn.

LG ICC Awards 2014

Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favourite player either via www.lgiccawards.com or via Twitter using the hashtag #lgiccawards.
Voting for the LG People’s Choice Award is now open and will close at midnight (UAE time) on Thursday, 30 October. The winner, as well as the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the short-list for the remaining LG ICC Awards 2014 will be announced on Wednesday 5 November 2014 at a press conference at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai. ICC Chief Executive David Richardson and ICC Cricket Committee Chairman Anil Kumble will attend the press conference, which will start at 1030.
The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.


The five players were selected by the panel using the criteria set out by LG and the ICC, which required that the nominees have displayed attributes regarded by LG as being in line with its corporate qualities, such as innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.
ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: “The support of the fans is vital for the game and particularly valued by the players – hence, the significance of the LG People’s Choice award. The overwhelming number of cricket fans who participate to select the winner of this award has made it one of the most prestigious awards in the ICC calendar.
“None of the deserving nominees have won this award before and this year’s fan favourite will join the exclusive company of previous winners, Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Kumar Sangakkara (2011 and 2012) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2013).”

STAR Sports 1 Indian sub-continent excluding Pakistan 15th November 20:00 IST
STAR Sports 1 HD
Fox Sports Australia 15th November 13:00
SKY Sports (3) New Zealand 15th November 22:30
ESPN 3 (On demand) USA 15th November 18:00 EST
ESPN Caribbean Caribbean 15th November 21:00 EST
OSN Cricket Middle East and North Africa 15th November 22:00
SuperSport (2) South Africa and Sub-Saharan Africa 15th November 17:30
Star Cricket South East Asia 15th November 22:50 HKT
Sky Sports (2) United Kingdom 17th November 22:00 GMT
Rogers Sportsnet World Canada 17th November 22:00 ET
BTV Bangladesh Check local listings TBC
PTV Pakistan Check local listings TBC
CSN Sri Lanka Check local listings TBC
Please check local timings for broadcasters not listed      

Similar Articles