ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250

Tweet

What are your thoughts on this article?

ICC clarifies Steven Smith’s catch in Abu Dhabi ODI

Given the recent trend of fielders moving in anticipation after a batsman had moved to play a shot, the ICC consulted with the MCC and advised the umpires

ICC clarifies Steven Smith’s catch in Abu Dhabi ODI - Cricket News
The International Cricket Council (ICC) has sought to clarify the ruling relating to Law 41.8 that resulted in the dismissal of Pakistan batsman Fawad Alam, who was caught by Australia’s Steven Smith during the third One-Day International (ODI) in Abu Dhabi on Sunday.
 
Given the recent trend of fielders moving in anticipation after a batsman had moved to play a shot, the ICC consulted with the MCC and advised the umpires to use the following interpretation: “As long as the movement of a close catching fielder is in response to the striker’s actions (the shot he/she is about to play or shaping to play), then movement is permitted before the ball reaches the striker. On the day, if umpires believe any form of significant movement is unfair (in an attempt to deceive the batsman), then the Law still applies”.
 
This interpretation was discussed during the Match Officials’ Workshop in Dubai in late September.
 

Similar Articles