ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

All to play for in Group B at ICC WCL Division 6

Top two teams will be promoted to ICC WCL Div. 5

All to play for in Group B at ICC WCL Division 6 - Cricket News
Cayman Islands’ Chris Palmer: “All the participating teams are capable of playing an exciting brand of cricket to a high standard
Vanuatu’s Andrew Mansale: “We are excited about the opportunity to represent Vanuatu with pride and passion and play some good entertaining cricket”
Norway’s Raza Iqbal: “It will be the first time a lot of the team are participating in a tournament like this, so we are preparing as best we can”
ICC World Cricket League (WCL) Division 6 will see eight teams locking horns in England, Cayman Islands’ Chris Palmer, Vanuatu’s Andrew Mansale and Norway’s Raza Iqbal from Group B say their teams are prepared for competitive cricket.
During the seven-day tournament that commences on 7 September, Botswana, Fiji, Guernsey, Suriname, Cayman Islands, Norway, Saudi Arabia and Vanuatu will compete for the top two positions that will see promotion to ICC World Cricket League Division 5. ICC WCL Division 6 sees the start of the pathway to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 which is to be held in England.
Cayman Islands’ captain Chris Palmer is looking forward to playing on the international stage: “We can’t wait to play against the other nations from all around, seeing how they play and approach the game. We have been training for roughly three months, trying to simulate the conditions that we are going to come up against as best as possible. Like some of the other teams, adapting to the cooler temperatures is very important.”
Palmer is positive about the chances of Cayman Islands ahead of the tournament: “Our ultimate goal is to be promoted to ICC World Cricket League Division 5 and we would like to do that by playing good cricket in the right spirit.”
Vanuatu have been preparing well for the tournament says skipper Andrew Mansale: “Our preparation began with a two-week camp in April, following that in July we competed in the Pacific Games which gave us some good match practice, we performed well and won the gold medal.”
The Vanuatu squad is looking forward to the tournament starting, he continued: “We are excited about the opportunity to represent Vanuatu with pride and passion and play some good entertaining cricket against teams from all over the world. We look forward to making new friends and continuing the success of Vanuatu Cricket.”
Norway’s skipper Raza Iqbal will be leading the team in an ICC World Cricket League event for the first time: “It will be the first time a lot of the team are participating in a tournament like this, so we are preparing as best we can. I am hoping we can be very competitive and perform to the highest level.”
The opening day of the tournament will see Cayman Islands take on Vanuatu at Frinton and Norway lock horns with Saudi Arabia at Coggeshall.
The tournament schedule is:
7 September – Suriname v Botswana (Kelvedon), Guernsey v Fiji (Colchester), Cayman Islands v Vanuatu (Frinton), Norway v Saudi Arabia (Coggeshall)
8 September – Cayman Islands v Saudi Arabia (Kelvedon), Vanuatu v Norway (West Mersea), Fiji v Suriname (Colchester), Guernsey v Botswana (Frinton)
9 September- Rest/ reserve day
10 September – Fiji v Botswana (Coggeshall), Guernsey v Suriname (Halstead), Cayman Islands v Norway (Kelvedon), Vanuatu v Saudi Arabia (Colchester)
11 September – A3rd v B4th (Kelvedon), B3rd v A4th (Maldon), A1st v B2nd (Frinton), B1st v A2nd (Coggeshall)
12 September- Rest/ reserve day
13 September – Final (County Ground, Chelmsford), 3rd v 4th Play off (Colchester), 5th v 6th Play off (Bishops Stortford 1), 7th v 8th Play off (Bishops Stortford 2)
All matches are scheduled to start at 1030 local time
Group A Squads
Botswana – Karabo Motlhanka (captain), Karabo Modise, Waseem Tajbhay, Thatayaone Tshose, Russel Withey, Rashaad Mosweu, Gaolape (John) Mokokwe, Sooraj Kollery, Inzimam Master, Nabil Master, Dhruv Maisura, James Moses, Aaamir Saiyed, Adithiya Rangaswamy
Guernsey– Jamie Nussbaumer (captain), Ben Ferbrache, David Hooper, Matthew Stokes, Tim Ravenscroft, Max Ellis, Jordon Martel, Jason Martin, Lucas Barker, Oliver Newey, James Wilkes-Green, Oliver    Nightingale, Tom Nightingale, William Fazakerley
Fiji – Josefa Rika (captain), Jikoi Kida Vanualevu, Giles Smith, Rabici Lesuma, Metuisela Beitaki, Sekove Ravoka, Viliame Yabaki, Sakiusa Dokosobau, Karan Kumar, Imran Khan, Kunaal Kumar, Riyad Khan, Viliame Mana, Jone Wesele
Suriname – Mohindra Boodram (captain), Shazam Ramjohn, Vishwar Shaw, Gavin Singh, Banerd Benjemin Bailey, Yuvraj Paul Dayal, Vejai Hirlal, Mohan Balkaran, Khemraj Jaikaran, Sauid Ahmed Drepaul, Arun Kamesh Gokoel, Hemradj Akash Basropansingh, Muneshwar Chris Patandin, Wasim Akram Haslim
Group B Squads
Cayman Islands – Christopher Palmer (captain), Adrian Wright, Conroy Wright, Corey Cato, Darren Cato, Ramon Sealy, Omar Willis, Ryan Bovell, Alessandro Morris, Ian Rotsey, Neil Coley, Troy Taylor, Kervin Ebanks, Sacha DeAlwis
Norway – Raza Iqbal (captain), Safir Hayat, Vithyeswara Sarma, Amad Sheikh, Waqas Ahmed, Ibrahim Mughal, Rahul Raghunath Shinde, Prateesh Kumar Thangavadivel, Zeeshan S. Siddiqui, Damon Crawford, Sheraz Khalid, Jawad Mir, Suhail Ifthikar, Arultheepan Kandasamy
Saudi Arabia – Shoaib Ali (captain), Mohsin Shabbir Rajput, Abdul Waheed, Shahbaz Rasheed, Imran Azam, Kamran Hadi, Muhammad Waqas Ausaf, Arslan Mushtaq, Muhammad Mazhar Abbasi, Kashif Riaz, Muhammad Afzal, Muhammad Nadeem Javed, Ibrar Ul Haq, Sajid Saeed
Vanuatu - Andrew Mansale (captain), Trevor Langa, Jonathan Dunn, Simpson Hopeman Obed, Joshua Rasu, Wolford Kalworai, Patrick Matautaava, Jelany Chilia, Nalin Nipiko, Ronald Tari, Kenny Tari, Apolinaire Liplip Stephen, Callum Charles Blake, Niko Unavalu