ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

New Zealand Test squad for Sri Lanka series announced

Mitchell Santner and Neil Wagner have been included for the two-Test series

New Zealand Test squad for Sri Lanka series announced - Cricket News
There’s a familiar look to the New Zealand Test squad to play Sri Lanka in the two match ANZ Test Series this month.

All 12 players named by New Zealand Coach Mike Hesson and selector Gavin Larsen were a part of the squad in the recent Tour of Australia, including Adelaide debutant Mitchell Santner. 

Santner performed well with both bat and ball in his opening Test and coach Mike Hesson said he thoroughly deserved the opportunity to continue showing his skills during the home summer. 
“The level of composure Mitchell showed on debut was very impressive and he certainly displayed how exciting a player he is with both the bat and ball,” said Hesson. 
“His ability to bat in the top six and bowl good overs gives us options and assists the team balance. We’re looking forward to watching Mitchell’s continued development.”
Hesson said Wagner had earned his way into the 12 and also showed confidence in Mark Craig and Martin Guptill to perform in the upcoming series.

“Neil impressed in Australia and not only showed that he’ll run in hard all day, but was swinging the ball again.
“Mark and Martin didn’t perform to the level they would have liked over in Australia, but both have shown in the past what they’re capable of and we’re confident they’ll make valuable contributions in the upcoming series.
“We think it’s a strong squad, but equally we’ve got a group of players on the fringe of selection who are ready to be called upon if necessary.

Allrounders Corey Anderson and Jimmy Neesham were not available for selection due to fitness, while Matt Henry, Luke Ronchi and Hamish Rutherford will return to their domestic sides. 
Wagner was also named in the President’s XI to face Sri Lanka in a warm-up match in Queenstown beginning on Thursday, alongside a predominantly youthful side captained by Canterbury’s Ryan McCone.  
New Zealand Test Squad
Brendon McCullum (captain)
Trent Boult
Doug Bracewell
Mark Craig
Martin Guptill
Tom Latham
Mitchell Santner
Tim Southee
Ross Taylor
Neil Wagner
BJ Watling
Kane Williamson 

President's XI

Ryan McCone (c) (Canterbury Kings)
James Baker (SKYCITY Northern Knights)
Joe Carter (SKYCITY Northern Knights)
Joel Harden (Devon Hotel Central Stags)
Shawn Hicks (Mondiale Auckland Aces)
Tim Johnston (Canterbury Kings)
Ken McClure (Canterbury Kings)
Matt McEwan (Mighty Ape Wellington Firebirds)
Glenn Phillips (Mondiale Auckland Aces)  
Bharat Popli (SKYCITY Northern Knights)
Ben Smith (Devon Hotel Central Stags)
Blair Tickner (Devon Hotel Central Stags)
Neil Wagner (SBS Otago Volts)

Similar Articles