ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Kraigg Brathwaite, Joseph earn ODI call-ups for West Indies

Rovman Powell and Nicholas Pooran in T20I team for series against Pakistan in United Arab Emirates

Kraigg Brathwaite, Joseph earn ODI call-ups for West Indies - Cricket News
Alzarri Joseph earned his maiden ODI call-up.

The West Indies Cricket Board named 15-man squads to take on Pakistan in an upcoming Twenty20 International and One-Day International series in September-October 2016. Carlos Brathwaite, hero of West Indies' ICC World Twenty20 2016 triumph, will continue to lead the T20I side while Jason Holder will captain the ODI team, the WICB announced on Monday(September 2). 

Kraigg Brathwaite was called up to the ODI squad and could be in line to play his first limited-overs game for West Indies, having played 31 Tests since his debut in 2011. Others to earn call-ups were Alzarri Joseph, the 19-year-old tearaway pacer who made his Test debut in West Indies’ recently concluded series against India, and Evin Lewis, the big-hitting opening batsman who shot to fame with a century against India in the first match of a two-T20I series in Lauderhill, Florida.

Chris Gayle, however, will miss out on the series, being unavailable for selection, as will Lendl Simmons, who is absent due to medical reasons. Gayle was part of the West Indies squad when the team took on India on August 27 and 28, but didn't play either of the two matches in a series West Indies won 1-0.

Two uncapped players – Rovman Powell, the allrounder, and Nicholas Pooran, the wicketkeeper – were included in the T20I squad, as were Jerome Taylor, the paceman, and Chadwick Walton, the wicketkeeper-batsman.

West Indies takes on Pakistan in a three-match T20I series, in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, on September 23, 24 and 27, before three ODIs spread over Sharjah and Abu Dhabi. The limited-overs clashes will be followed by a three-Test series.


T20I: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Samuel Badree, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton (wk), Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell.

ODI: Jason Holder (capt), Sulieman Benn, Carlos Brathwaite, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Carter, Johnson Charles, Shannon Gabriel, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Marlon Samuels.

Similar Articles