ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Uncapped Paul, experienced McCarthy return for South Africa Women T20Is

Ireland Women to be led by new captain Laura Delany in two-match series before four-ODI exchange

Uncapped Paul, experienced McCarthy return for South Africa Women T20Is - Cricket News
Laura Delany will lead Ireland Women against South Africa.
Leah Paul becomes the latest teenager to wear the Ireland Women jersey, with the 16 year old called up into the Twenty20 International squad to take on South Africa Women next month.  

Paul, a left-arm medium pacer, joins Louise McCarthy, who returns to the senior team after a stint with Ireland A, as the two changes from the side that played the Women's World T20 2016 in India.  

Cecilia Joyce, Robyn Lewis and Kate McKenna, meanwhile, miss out in the 14-member squad announced on Thursday (July 21).   

Cecilia, however, will feature in the One-Day Internationals to follow the 20-over games, while Meg Kendal, 26, is in line to make her international one-day debut.  

The assignment will be Laura Delany's first as captain. “I’m looking forward to seeing how Laura and Kim (Garth, the vice captain) take this group forward over the next couple of months,” said Aaron Hamilton, the coach. “As a group we start our road to the qualification tournament for the ICC Women’s World Cup, which will be held in England in 2017, and this series against South Africa is a great way to start.”

South Africa had earlier announced a young 14-member touring squad led by Dinesha Devnarain. 

Dané van Niekerk, named captain after Mignon du Preez stepped down following a disappointing World T20 campaign for the side, won't feature in the series, along with the experienced Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp and Lizelle Lee, as they had already received permission to participate in the inaugural KIA Super League T20 competition in England. 

“Dinesha is an experienced campaigner who has years of experience in international cricket. She is also the coach and captain of the KwaZulu-Natal women’s team and one of only eight women in South Africa with a level 3 CSA coaching certificate. I am confident that she will lead the team well in Ireland and return home with the required result,” said Hilton Moreeng, the coach. 

The tour starts with two T20Is on August 1 and 3, followed by four ODIs from August 5 to 11. 

Ireland Women T20 squad: Laura Delany (capt), Cath Dalton, Kim Garth, Jennifer Gray, Isobel Joyce, Shauna Kavanagh, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Louise McCarthy, Ciara Metcalfe, Lucy O’Reilly, Leah Paul, Clare Shillington, Mary Waldron (wk).

Ireland Women ODI squad: Laura Delany (capt), Cath Dalton, Kim Garth, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Meg Kendal, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Louise McCarthy, Ciara Metcalfe, Lucy O’Reilly, Una Raymond-Hoey, Clare Shillington, Mary Waldron (wk).

South Africa Women: Dinesha Devnarain, Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Lara Goodall, Ayabonga Khaka, Yolani Fourie, Marcia Letsoalo, Andrie Steyn, Laura Wolvaardt, Masabata Klaas, Chloe Tryon, Moeseline Daniels, Suné Luus, Odine Kirsten.

Similar Articles