In focus

Tournament Format:

The ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 will be staged from 16 March to 6 April, with a total of 62 tournament matches (35 men’s and 27 women’s) played across Chittagong, Dhaka and Sylhet in the 22-day tournament. As with the last two events, the women’s semi-finals and final will be held on the same day as the men’s semi-finals and final, and at the same venue.
The format for the men’s event has been changed following an increase in teams from 12 to 16.  As the teams’ seeding are based on the Reliance ICC T20I Team Rankings as on 8 October 2012, the top eight sides following the conclusion of the ICC World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 will play directly in the Super 10 stage while Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, which finished outside the top eight, will participate in the first round that will be held from 16-21 March.

The first round of the men’s event will include eight sides and twelve matches, with the teams divided into two groups of four teams each, with the table-toppers progressing to the Super 10 stage.

The six other teams in the first round advanced to the tournament after finishing in the top six of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier in the UAE in November 2013.  Ireland won the event after defeating Afghanistan by 68 runs in the final, and the top six teams from the tournament are:
·       Ireland
·       Afghanistan
·       Nepal
·       UAE
·       Netherlands
·       Hong Kong

The Super 10 stage will start with an evening match between former champions India and Pakistan in Dhaka on Friday 21 March.  Twenty matches in total will be played in this stage.
The two groups of the Super 10 stage are:

·       Group 1 – Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand, Group B Qualifier 1 (Q1B)

·       Group 2 – West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia, Group A Qualifier 1 (Q1A)

The ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2014 has been increased from eight to 10 teams, and the host, Bangladesh, will make its maiden appearance at the event.

Three teams qualified for the tournament through the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier held in Dublin in August 2013.  Pakistan and Sri Lanka advanced after reaching the final (the title was shared after rain prevented a result, and are joined by Ireland, which finished third after beating Netherlands by two runs in the third place play-off.

The first round matches of the women’s event will take place in Sylhet from 23 March to 2 April.

The 10 sides have been divided into two Groups, which are:

·       Group A – Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, Pakistan, Ireland

·       Group B – England, West Indies, India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh

The sides will lock horns in 20 group matches, with the top two sides from each Group progressing to the semi-finals.  The remaining sides will play play-off matches to determine final finishing positions.

Defending champion Australia will kick-off its campaign on Sunday 23 March when it will take on New Zealand. This game will be followed by the match between South Africa and Pakistan, which along with Ireland had qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 2014.


The logo for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 Inspired by the unique painted rickshaws, which pack the streets of the Bangladesh cities.

For the first time, 16 men’s teams will compete for the ICC World Twenty20 in Bangladesh 2014 alongside eight women’s teams who include for the first time the hosts. The event will run from 16 March to 6 April 2014 and is scheduled to be played in Bangladesh.

The event logo which uses the colours of the Bangladesh flag with splashes of blue which represents Bangladesh’s iconic waterways (as well as being the ICC’s own colour).

The T is made up of cricket stumps and the 0 in the T20 represents the cricket ball complete with Bangladeshi green seam while the white in the design lends an energetic, friendly and youthful feel to the logo.

Designed in Australia by design company WiteKite who also designed the ICC Cricket World Cup logo in 2011, the ICC World Twenty20 2012 Sri Lanka mark and the distinctive logo for the ICC Women’s World Cup 2013 India.