Previous Events


In focus

South Africa hosted the inaugural event in 2007, which was won by India in a dramatic final against Pakistan at The Wanderers. The tournament will also remembered for Yuvraj Singh hitting six sixes in one over against England and the first-ever Twenty20 International hundred, which was scored by Chris Gayle.

Pakistan won the second edition of the men's tournament, which took place in England in 2009. It defeated Sri Lanka in the final of the event at Lord's, although Tillakaratne Dilshan won the Player of the Tournament Award. Associate Members enjoyed great success with the Netherlands defeating England and Ireland beating Bangladesh.

In 2009, the first ever women's tournament was also held alongside the men's event, with double headers of matches played at the semi-finals and final stage. England won the tournament after defeating New Zealand in the final after an outstanding display by Katherine Brunt.

In 2010, England's men captured its first-ever ICC global title, defeating Australia by seven wickets in the final, while Australia's women won a close final against New Zealand by three runs.

In 2012, while West Indies beat host Sri Lanka by 36 runs to win the men's title, its first ICC trophy since the ICC Champions Trophy in 2004, Australia beat England by four runs to win the women's title.

The 2014 edition for the ICC World Twenty20 is to be held in Bangladesh.

ICC World Twenty20 previous winners

Year Venue Winner Runner-up
2007 South Africa India Pakistan
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka
2010 West Indies England Australia
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka

ICC Women's World Twenty20 previous winners
Year Venue Winner Runner-up
2009 England England New Zealand
2010 West Indies Australia New Zealand
2012 Sri Lanka Australia England