In focus

Top Headlines

Leie, Phangiso spin South Africa home - Cricket News
Match Reports,07 July 2015

Leie, Phangiso spin South Africa home

WT20 Fantasy

Stafanie Taylor wins ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2012

West Indian beats Anisa Mohammed, Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor to win award

Stafanie Taylor wins ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year 2012 - Cricket News
Stafanie Taylor of West Indies sweeps hard.
West Indies' Stafanie Taylor has been named the ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo. 

During the voting period Taylor played in 13 ODIs for the West Indies scoring 514 runs at the top of the order at average of 46.72, while the off-spinner also claimed 16 wickets at an average of 13.12. 

The young Jamaican took the accolade ahead of fellow West Indies team-mate Anisa Mohammed, England’s Lydia Greenway and Sarah Taylor. 

The accolade rounds off a successful year for Taylor, who was part of the West Indies side that was victorious at the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in Bangladesh, the side finished undefeated. 

Taylor, who was unable to attend the awards due to playing commitments in the UK in preparation for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Sri Lanka 2012 said: “Thank you this award tonight. I’d like to thank my family and friends for this award.” 

The ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year Award was one of 11 individual prizes given at this year’s LG ICC Awards. 

Based on the period between 4 August 2011 and 6 August 2012, the LG ICC Awards 2012 take into account performances by players and officials in a remarkable period for the game. 

For all the individual awards (with the exceptions of the Spirit of Cricket Award and the Umpire of the Year), a long-list compiled by the selection panel was forwarded to a 32-person Voting Academy made up of former players, respected members of the media, an elite umpire and an elite match referee. 

They voted on a three, two, one basis (with three being the highest value) and the winners emerged. 

That period includes such high-profile events as the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2012 held in the UAE, the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in Bangladesh in 2011, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, as well as numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, plus several bilateral Test and ODI series. 

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its ninth year and this year it will be held in Colombo, Sri Lanka. 

Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004 and 2011), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009), Dubai (2008) and Bengaluru (2010).

Share this article

Similar Articles