Past Performances

2007 Champions
2009 Super Eight
2010 Super Eight
2012 Super Eight
Mahendra Singh Dhoni is seeking to become the first captain in international cricket history to hold all three ICC global event titles at the same time. In 2007, he led India to victory by five runs over Pakistan at Johannesburg in the final of the inaugural ICC World Twenty20. Four years later he skippered his country to victory over Sri Lanka on home soil, at the Wankhede Stadium, in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011. This was India’s second ICC CWC title following its shock victory over champion West Indies at Lord’s in 1983. Dhoni is one of three players – Yuvraj Singh and Rohit Sharma being the others – who played in the 2007 ICC World Twenty20 final and also India’s most recent T20I against Australia in October 2013. One of the most memorable moments of the 2007 tournament was Yuvraj hitting England’s Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over at Durban in the Group Stage. In the three ICC World Twenty20 tournaments since 2007, India has not progressed beyond the Super Eight stage. As of the end of January, India was second to Sri Lanka in the Reliance ICC T20I Rankings and had won 25 and lost 19 of its 46 T20Is. It had won 11 and lost six of those matches played in Asia. Yuvraj Singh was man of the match in four of India’s six most recent T20Is between October 2012 and October 2013.


Latest Gallery