Past Performances

2007 Super Eight
2009 Runners Up
2010 Semifinalists
2012 Runners Up
Host of the previous ICC World Twenty20 2012, Sri Lanka was runner-up in that tournament, to West Indies, and also in the one before that, in 2009 when it lost to Pakistan at Lord’s. It was also runner-up to India in the most recent ICC Cricket World Cup (2011). Its one outright triumph at an ICC global event came at the ICC Cricket World Cup 1996, when it shocked the cricket world by beating Australia at Lahore. Sri Lanka has won 16 of its 25 matches at the ICC World Twenty20, the joint-most tournament victories along with Pakistan. As at the end of January, 12 batsmen had made more 1,000 runs in T20Is and three are Sri Lankan: Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara and Tillakaratne Dilshan. Spinner Ajantha Mendis has the best strike-rate (a wicket every 12.9 balls) of any bowler with at least 30 T20I wickets and the second best economy rate (6.15 runs per over). Against Zimbabwe in the ICC World Twenty20 2012, Mendis had the exceptional figures of 4-2-8-6.


Latest Gallery