Past Performances

2007 Group Stage
2009 Semifinalists
2010 Super Eight
2012 Champions
The current holder of the ICC World Twenty20 trophy, West Indies upset the host Sri Lanka in the 2012 final at Colombo’s Premadasa Stadium with a stunning 36-run victory that had looked so unlikely after its shaky start. It took 17 balls to score its first runs off the bat and was only 32 for 2 after 10 overs. But Marlon Samuels’ 78 from 56 balls with six sixes rescued its innings and allowed the side to post 137 for 6. With Sri Lanka needed 44 from the final four overs, spinner Sunil Narine took the key wicket of Nuwan Kulasekara and finished with 3 for 9 from 3.4 overs. West Indies also reached the semi-finals of the ICC World Twenty20 2009, a tournament notable for Chris Gayle’s blistering assault on Australia fast bowler Brett Lee at The Oval during an innings of 88 from 50 balls that included six fours and six sixes. Gayle also scored the first century in a Twenty20 International, against South Africa at Johannesburg in the opening match of the ICC World Twenty20 2007. West Indies won the first two ICC Cricket World Cups in 1975 and 1979, and also lifted the ICC Champions Trophy 2004, beating host England in the final.


Latest Gallery