powered by

13 July 201521:11

PREVIEW: Kenya, Netherlands look for continued success

Chance for Scotland and Oman to notch wins, while Canada, UAE look to open accounts

PREVIEW: Kenya, Netherlands look for continued success - Cricket News

Netherlands is full of experienced players, it will not be taking the match against Oman lightly.

Scotland v Kenya

Kenya is in with a chance to top the Group B table when it takes on Scotland in its fourth match of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 at the Grange Cricket Club Ground in Edinburgh on Tuesday (July 14).

Its third match against Afghanistan was abandoned without a ball being bowled on Monday (July 13), thus giving both sides one point each. That took Kenya to five points from three matches so far, behind only Afghanistan, which has seven points from four matches.

While Kenya coasted to a comfortable win against Canada in its tournament opener owing to a stunning unbeaten half-century from Irfan Karim, who smashed a 54-ball 74 in a seven-wicket win, it scraped through to a seven-run win over Oman. With its bowling and batting clicking in bursts, an all-round performance against Scotland would help strengthen its chances of going ahead in the competition and finishing in the top two.

Meanwhile, Scotland is coming into this clash on the back of two consecutive losses – to the Netherlands and to Afghanistan. Scotland started its tournament with an emphatic nine-wicket win over the United Arab Emirates, but needs to regain the winning momentum after the losses. Currently in fourth spot with two points, it will look at consolidating its position in the remaining three clashes with a chance to finish in the top three.

Despite the losses though, Scotland has had positives to take away in the form of Alasdair Evans's returns of 5 for 24 and Preston Mommsen’s consistency. Scotland needs one solid all-round performance to put its campaign back on track, and it would be hoping to achieve that against Kenya.

Teams (from):

Scotland: Preston Mommsen (capt), Richie Berrington, Kyle Coetzer, Matthew Cross, Josh Davey, Con de Lange, Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Rob Taylor, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt.

Kenya: Rakep Patel (captain), Emmanuel Bundi, Narendra Kalyan, Irfan Karim, Karan Kaul, Lucas Ndandason, James Ngoche, Shem Ngoche, Collins Obuya, Eugene Ochieng, Nehemiah Odhiambo, Nelson Odhiambo, Elijah Otieno, Morris Ouma, Gurdeep Singh.

Netherlands v Oman

The Netherlands has bounced back in admirable fashion after a loss in its tournament opener, winning two games on the trot. After the 32-run loss against Afghanistan in its first game, it beat Scotland emphatically by 32 runs and UAE by seven wickets. The wins have resulted in it being placed third in the Group B table beneath Afghanistan and Kenya with four points.

The Netherlands has been boosted by the inclusion of Roelof van der Merwe, whose effectiveness with the ball has been noteworthy. The spinners have accounted for a bulk of the wickets, and the batsmen stepping up has been instrumental in the last two victories.

Oman lost its opening match against Kenya by just seven runs, suffering mainly due to a lack of partnerships. However, it bounced back quickly to overcome Canada in its second game. With the match reduced to 13-overs-a-side, Oman’s opening duo of Zeeshan Maqsood and Khawar Ali shared a stand of 65 runs in just 4.2 overs. Maqsood saw Oman through with an unbeaten 86 that helped his side scale the target of 134 in 11.2 overs for a seven-wicket win.

As that match showed, even though Oman is a relative newcomer it is well capable of springing a surprise, and though the Netherlands is full of experienced players, it will not be taking this match lightly.

Teams (from):

Netherlands: Peter Borren (capt), Rahil Ahmed, Wesley Barresi, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Ahsan Malik, Stephan Myburgh, Max O'Dowd, Michael Rippon, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe*, Paul van Meekeren, Thijs van Schelven, Pieter Seelaar, Michael Swart.

Oman: Sultan Ahmed (capt), Yousuf Abdulrahim, Zeeshan Ahmad, Amir Ali, Khawar Ali, Munis Ansari, Aamir Kaleem, Mehran Khan, Ajay Lalcheta, Sufyan Mahmood, Zeeshan Maqsood, Muhammad Nadeem, Rajeshkumar Ranpura, Jatinder Singh, Vaibhav Wategaonkar.

Canada v UAE

Canada and the United Arab Emirates, the only teams in the group without a win so far, find themselves at the bottom of the table. While UAE has lost all three of its clashes and finds itself at eighth spot, Canada, having lost the two matches it has played so far is at seventh.

However, the losses in its opening two games is not an accurate reflection of Canada’s campaign. Led by half-century from Ruvindu Gunasekera and Nitish Kumar against Kenya and Oman respectively, it was outdone by opponents that were better on the day.

On the other hand, UAE had a disappointing start against Scotland in its tournament opener but bounced back from that nine-wicket loss with a better show against Afghanistan, scoring 164. Despite the Afghanistan batsmen chasing the target down and losing only two wickets in the process, UAE had quite a few positives to take from the match.

The youngsters have stepped up in the absence of Khurram Khan, who ended his 14-year career after the conclusion of the ICC Intercontinental Cup last month. The likes of Mohammad Shahzad, Shaiman Anwar and Swapnil Patil have put their hands up at different points and have made noteworthy contributions.

Both teams, however, seem to have one thing in common: while batting seems to be their stronger suit, the bowling has been up and down. They will hope to turn that around in a clash that gives them the opportunity to open their account.

Teams (from):

Canada: Rizwan Cheema (capt), Saad Bin Zafar, Navneet Dhaliwal, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Jeremy Gordon, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Amarbir Hansra, Shaheed Keshvani, Nitish Kumar, Hiral Patel*, Cecil Pervez, Junaid Siddiqui, Hamza Tariq, Srimantha Wijeyeratne, Ahmad Awais.

UAE: Mohamed Tauqir (capt), Fayyaz Ahmed, Amjad Ali, Saqib Ali, Umair Ali, Shaiman Anwar, Faizan Asif, Nasir Aziz, Manjula Guruge, Amjad Javed, Muhammad Naveed, Swapnil Patil, Ahmed Raza, Muhammad Shahzad, Abdul Shakoor.

According to the format of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, the sides that top the two groups will automatically qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, while the sides that finish second and third in each of the two groups will play cross-over matches with the two winners joining the table-toppers for the India tournament.

The losing sides of the two play-off matches will then play the fourth-placed sides from each of the two groups in cross-over matches with the winners completing the 16-team line-up for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

The fifth-sixth and third-fourth position play-offs as well as the final will be played on the last three days of the tournament based on which these teams’ seeding/groupings for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 will be confirmed.