powered by

16 July 201521:40

PREVIEW: Another crucial day in Group B

The Netherlands faces Canada and Oman takes on UAE in the two Group B clashes on Friday

PREVIEW: Another crucial day in Group B - Cricket News

With the personnel it has, the Netherlands can still finish strongly and it will be targeting wins in its last two matches.

Of two Group B matches in the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 on Friday (July 17), one will pit Canada against the Netherlands at Goldenacre in Edinburgh, while the other will have Oman taking on the United Arab Emirates at the New Williamfield No. 1 Oval in Stirling.

Canada v The Netherlands
Both Canada and the Netherlands are in the bottom half of the Group B table, having played four matches each, and a win is imperative for both.

The Netherlands will have expected to do better than just record two wins and two losses from its first four matches, given the pedigree it has and its remarkable progress to the main draw in the ICC World Twenty20 2014, where it beat England.

Beginning with a loss against Afghanistan, the Netherlands picked up pace well with wins over Scotland and UAE, but was halted in its tracks by Oman’s stirring win on Tuesday. With the personnel it has, though, there’s little doubt the Netherlands can still finish strongly and it will be targeting wins in its last two matches, which will allow it a top-three finish and a chance at making the ICC World Twenty20 2016 in India. The trio of Ben Cooper, captain Peter Borren and Wesley Barresi are capable batsmen, while Roelof van der Merwe has been a key addition to the bowling unit.

Canada, currently winless in the competition, will be looking for a turnaround in fortunes. It lost to Kenya, Oman, UAE and Scotland, and though its batsmen put up reasonable totals, they were chased down each time. Canada will want its bowlers and batsmen to perform together, and though qualification for the ICC World Twenty20 next year looks distant, Canada can hope to finish the tournament on a high and build on the gains for the future.

Teams (from):

Peter Borren (capt), Rahil Ahmed, Wesley Barresi, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Ahsan Malik, Stephan Myburgh, Max O'Dowd, Michael Rippon, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren, Thijs van Schelven, Pieter Seelaar, Michael Swart.

Canada: Rizwan Cheema (capt), Saad Bin Zafar, Navneet Dhaliwal, Satsimranjit Dhindsa, Jeremy Gordon, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Amarbir Hansra, Shaheed Keshvani, Nitish Kumar, Hiral Patel, Cecil Pervez, Junaid Siddiqui, Hamza Tariq, Srimantha Wijeyeratne, Ahmad Awais.

Oman v UAE
Oman has quickly become the story of the tournament, notching fine wins over established sides. It lost to Kenya in its opening match by just seven runs, but after that, there were wins against Canada, the Netherlands and Afghanistan. The upshot is that Oman has six points from four matches and a win will catapult it to the top of Group B.

Against the Netherlands, Munis Ansari took 4 for 15 while Jatinder Singh hit 65 not out off 56 balls as Oman chased down a 136-run target with an over to spare and six wickets in the bag. Against Afghanistan, the side was even more impressive. A collective batting effort took the team to 144 for 7, and Zeeshan Maqsood (4 for 23) and Mehran Khan (4 for 24) then combined to bowl the Afghans out for 104.

UAE has had a patchy tournament, with one win in five matches, and this is its final match of the league phase. Its only victory so far has come against Canada, and even if it wins against Oman, the highest it can hope to finish is fifth. Nevertheless, given that the side has had the success of qualifying for the recent ICC World Cup 2015, it will want to finish on a high.

Teams (from):

Oman: Sultan Ahmed (capt), Yousuf Abdulrahim, Zeeshan Ahmad, Amir Ali, Khawar Ali, Munis Ansari, Aamir Kaleem, Mehran Khan, Ajay Lalcheta, Sufyan Mahmood, Zeeshan Maqsood, Muhammad Nadeem, Rajeshkumar Ranpura, Jatinder Singh, Vaibhav Wategaonkar.

UAE: Mohamed Tauqir (capt), Fayyaz Ahmed, Amjad Ali, Saqib Ali, Umair Ali, Shaiman Anwar, Faizan Asif, Nasir Aziz, Manjula Guruge, Amjad Javed, Muhammad Naveed, Swapnil Patil, Ahmed Raza, Muhammad Shahzad, Abdul Shakoor.

According to the format of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, the sides that top the two groups will automatically qualify for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016, while the sides that finish second and third in each of the two groups will play cross-over matches with the two winners joining the table-toppers for the India tournament.

The losing sides of the two play-off matches will then play the fourth-placed sides from each of the two groups in cross-over matches with the winners completing the 16-team line-up for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

The fifth-sixth and third-fourth position play-offs as well as the final will be played on the last three days of the tournament based on which these teams’ seeding/groupings for the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 will be confirmed.