powered by

26 July 201520:25

Scotland, Netherlands declared joint winners

Rain has final say as title clash is called off without a ball being bowled

Scotland, Netherlands declared joint winners - Cricket News

Scotland and Netherlands shared the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 trophy after rain forced the match to be abandoned.

Rain had the final say as the final of the ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 was abandoned without a ball bowled on Sunday (July 26) at The Village in Malahide.

The washout meant Netherlands and Scotland, the two finalists, were declared joint winners and shared the trophy. Namibia’s Bernard Scholtz, meanwhile, was declared the Player of the Tournament.

Things hadn’t looked too promising from the start of the day itself, which began wet and gloomy. The third-place play-off tie earlier in the day between Ireland and Hong Kong had been abandoned without a ball being bowled, and the fact that it kept drizzling all the way through meant there was little chance of play in the final, too. Play was finally called off at 2.56pm local time, and the teams were declared joint champions.

Both Netherlands and Scotland had already sealed their spots in the ICC World Twenty20 2016, which takes place in India in March-April. While Scotland topped the Group B table, finishing with eight points, Netherlands, also on eight points, had finished one spot below on account of a lower net run rate.

As a result, Scotland earned a direct qualification to the semi-final, where it beat Hong Kong by five wickets. Netherlands, on the other hand, had to get past Namibia in the second Qualifying play-off, before it defeated Ireland by five wickets in the second semi-final to set up a final date with Scotland.

This was Scotland's first appearance in the final of the tournament. Netherlands has won the tournament once before, in the inaugural edition in 2008, where also it had to share the title with Ireland after rain forced the match to be abandoned.

On the individual front, Kyle Coetzer finished as the highest run-getter for Scotland, with 206 runs at 34.33, while Alasdair Evans, with 14 wickets, finished as the team's leading wicket-taker.

For Netherlands, Ben Cooper scored 241 runs at 34.42, while Roelof van der Merwe and Mudassar Bukhari shared the bowling honours, finishing with 11 scalps each.