Get all the tournament action on your phone and tablet


Sri Lanka announce ICC World Twenty20 squad for India 2016

2014 champion boasts experienced core with Rangana Herath and Nuwan Kulasekara also included

18 February 2016 17:00 By Wisden India Staff, Bangalore

Sri Lanka announce ICC World Twenty20 squad for India 2016
 - Cricket News

Angelo Mathews also returned to the side and will be Malinga's deputy.

Lasith Malinga returns from injury to lead the Sri Lanka Twenty20 International squad in its defence of the ICC World Twenty20 title in India in March-April, and the Asia Cup T20 that precedes the global event.

The selectors on Thursday (February 18) have also recalled Rangana Herath, the left-arm spinner, for both tournaments. Herath, 37, has played nine T20Is in his career, the last of which was Sri Lanka's victorious ICC World Twenty20 2014 final against India.

A knee injury suffered during the home series against West Indies in October-November had kept Malinga out of action for the past few months. He had sat out of his side's limited-overs tour of New Zealand, where it lost 2-0 in the T20Is, and missed the 1-2 defeat of an injury-hit side to India as well.

Angelo Mathews, the Test and One-Day International skipper, also returned to the side, having recovered from a groin injury, and will be Malinga's deputy. Also back was Nuwan Kulasekara, the experienced medium pacer.

Dasun Shanaka – who took three wickets in the first T20I against India and impressed in the domestic games earlier – and Niroshan Dickwella retained their places. Also included was Shehan Jayasuriya, the left-hand batsman, who featured in the series against New Zealand.

Sri Lanka is drawn in Group 1 for the World T20 starting in March. It will start its campaign with a match against the qualifier from Group B on March 17 in Kolkata, before taking on the West Indies (March 20, Bangalore), England (March 26, Delhi) and South Africa (March 28, Delhi).

Squad: Lasith Malinga (capt), Angelo Mathews (vice-capt), Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Shehan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardena, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Jeffrey Vandersay.