Get all the tournament action on your phone and tablet


Bangladesh Women name ICC Women's World T20 squad

Sanjida Islam the only addition to squad that qualified for the tournament through the ICC Women's World T20 Qualifier 2015 in Bangkok

10 February 2016 19:36

Bangladesh Women name ICC Women's World T20 squad  - Cricket News

INCHEON, SOUTH KOREA - SEPTEMBER 26: (L-R) Lata Mondol and Fahima Khatun of Bangladesh celebrate after dismissing Bismah Maroof of Pakistan during the cricket women

Janahara Alam will lead a 15-member Bangladesh Women squad at the ICC Women's World T20 2016 in India in March-April.

Sanjida Islam, the 19-year-old right-hand batter, is the only addition to the side that qualified for the global tournament through the ICC Women's World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015 in Bangkok in December.

The selectors also named Rubaya Haider, Shamima Sultana, Suraiya Azmim Sonda, Nuzhat Tasnia (Tumpa) and Tazia Akthar as the stand-by players for the tournament.

Led by Alam, Bangladesh warmed up for the Qualifier with a 2-0 series win over Zimbabwe. It won four of its five matches in the Qualifier, losing to Ireland Women by two wickets in a thrilling final.

It will expect the spinners, led by Fahima Khatun, Khadija Tul Kubra and Rumana Ahmed, the allrounder, to repeat the feats of the qualifier as it challenges the top sides.

Bangladesh Women is drawn in Group B, and begin its campaign against India on March 15 at the M Chinnaswamy stadium in Bangladesh, before taking on England (March 17, Bangalore), West Indies (March 20, Chennai) and Pakistan (March 24, Delhi) in the group stage.

Squad: Jahanara Alam (capt), Ritu Moni, Ayasha Rahman, Sharmin Akter Supta, Salma Khatun, Nigar Sultana (wk), Farzana Haque, Khadija Tul Kubra, Rumana Ahmed, Shaila Sharmin, Lata Mondal, Nahida Akter, Panna Ghosh, Sanjida Islam, Fahima Khatun.