Get all the tournament action on your phone and tablet


England Women name ICC World Twenty20 squad for India 2016

Left-arm seamer Natasha Farrant included in team to be led by Charlotte Edwards

17 February 2016 16:38

England Women name ICC World Twenty20 squad for India 2016
 - Cricket News

Charlotte Edwards will lead England Women at the marquee event.

Charlotte Edwards will lead England Women at the ICC World Twenty20 2016 to be held in India next month.

There is a call-up for Natasha Farrant, while Heather Knight was named Edwards’ deputy in the squad announced on Wednesday (February 17).

Farrant, the left-arm seamer, is part of the England Women T20 International team which will play a three-match series against South Africa starting on Thursday.

“We are all looking forward to testing ourselves against the very best cricketers from across the world and playing the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in a cricket-mad country.” said Mark Robinson, England Women’s head coach.

“It will be a great experience for all of the players selected – both those who have had this opportunity before, and for the likes of Tash Farrant, selected for an ICC global event for the first time. Tash really impressed during England women’s training camp to Sri Lanka before Christmas last year, and adds a different dimension to the bowling attack as a left-arm seamer.”

Anya Shrubsole, Katherine Brunt and Jenny Gunn are also part of the pace contingent travelling to India.

Brunt, who has left the tour of South Africa with a back injury, is expected to be fit for the tournament while Shrubsole, Player of the Tournament in the 2014 edition of the ICC Women’s World T20, will be hoping to build on her performances.

The spin department consists of the two off-spinning Danielles, Hazell and Wyatt, while Rebecca Grundy will provide some variety with her left-arm spin.

Edwards, Knight, Sarah Taylor, Lydia Greenway and Amy Jones will shore up the batting line-up, while Natalie Sciver and Georgia Elwiss, the all-rounders, will add firepower to the lower order.

England, which finished runner-up in Bangladesh to Australia, is in Group B alongside India, Bangladesh, West Indies and Pakistan. It will play two warm-up matches in Chennai against New Zealand and South Africa on March 12 and 14 respectively, before kicking off its campaign proper against Bangladesh in Bangalore on March 17.

Squad: Charlotte Edwards (capt), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Georgia Elwiss, Natasha Farrant, Lydia Greenway, Rebecca Grundy, Jenny Gunn, Danielle Hazell, Amy Jones, Heather Knight (vice-capt), Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor (wk), Danielle Wyatt.