powered by

18 November 201509:41

Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013 review

Pakistan and Sri Lanka remained undefeated through the tournament, and ended up sharing the trophy while Ireland finished third

Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2013 review - Cricket News

Pakistan and Sri Lanka remained undefeated in the inaugural edition of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 qualifier.

Pakistan and Sri Lanka remained undefeated in the inaugural edition of the Women’s World Twenty20 qualifier, and host Ireland was the third team to make it to the main tournament in Bangladesh in 2014.

Pakistan’s campaign was built around Nain Abidi and Bismah Maroof, both of who made more than 150 runs, and a strong bowling unit led by Sadia Yousuf and Sumaiya Siddiqui. Sri Lanka came to the final on the back of Chandima Gunaratne’s left-arm spin and runs from Yasoda Mendis and Deepika Rasangika.

Sadia’s returns of 4 for 9 was instrumental in Pakistan beating Ireland by nine wickets in the first semi-final, while Sri Lanka rode on healthy contributions with the bat from Rasangika and Eshani Kaushalya to beat the Netherlands by 33 runs in a rain-affected second semi-final.

In the final, Abidi made 45 and Pakistan reached 112 for 5 after Sri Lanka won the toss. The game went into the reserve day, but there wasn’t a single ball bowled in Sri Lanka’s innings, and the trophy was shared.

The third-place play-off match between Ireland and the Netherlands also went into the reserve day, where the home team held on to complete a thrilling two-run win in front of a large home crowd in the most dramatic of fashions and seal Ireland Women’s first ever qualification for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20.

In the Shield final, Thailand beat Zimbabwe by 25 runs via the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Among other highlights in the tournament, Ireland’s Clare Shillington was the only batter to score more than 200 runs, with her unbeaten 114 against Japan and 81 against Canada standing out. Zimbabwe’s Hazvinei Saili was the best bowler with seven wickets at 13.14.

Netherlands, Thailand, Zimbabwe, Canada and Japan got relegated to the regional qualifiers.

The original idea was to grant qualification to only the winner of the tournament, but in order to promote the development of women’s cricket, the decision was amended at International Cricket Council’s 2013 annual conference to expand the competition to 10 teams instead of the originally planned 8.