powered by

03 December 201513:16

Bangladesh Women secure passage to India

Rumana does star turn in 31-run win over Zimbabwe; PNG edges out Netherlands in Shield semifinal

Bangladesh Women secure passage to India

 - Cricket News
Rumana Ahmed starred with the ball as Bangladesh Women qualified for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 India 2016, scoring a comfortable 31-run victory over Zimbabwe Women in the first semifinal of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier Thailand 2015 in Bangkok on Thursday (December 3).

Put in to bat, Bangladesh made 89 for 5 from its 20 overs and then bowled Zimbabwe out for 58 in just 19.1 overs at the Terdthai Cricket Ground.

In the first Shield semifinal at the Asian Institute of Technology Ground, PNG Women edged out Netherlands Women by one wicket to advance to the next phase.

Asked to bat first, Bangladesh lost its first three batters with just 10 runs on the board, Josephine Nkomo striking twice in the fifth over. Sharmin Akhter and Fargana Hoque steadied the ship with a fourth-wicket stand of 51 in 62 deliveries. While Sharmin made 22 off 34 deliveries, Fargana top-scored with a run-a-ball 43 which contained four fours, before both were run out.

Nkomo grabbed 2 for 12 from her four overs while Audrey Mazvishaya was equally economical, with 1 for 12 from her four overs.

Zimbabwe’s chase never took off once it lost its first wicket in the fourth over with the score on 14. That set the stage for Rumana, the legspinner, to weave her magic. Rumana picked up 4 for 8 from her four overs, inclusive of two maidens, as only Pellagia Mujaji could reach double figures for Zimbabwe. It took Rumana’s tally for the tournament to 12 wickets from four matches, and won her a second player of the match award in the competition. Fahima Khatun and Shaila Sharmin complemented her with two wickets each.

In the first Shield semifinal, PNG had to fight till the last ball to earn its one-wicket victory. Netherlands started well on being put in with a 31-run first-wicket partnership between Miranda Veringmeier (25) and Heather Siegers (16). Sterre Kalis remained unbeaten on 33 as it finished on 105 for 4 at the end of 20 overs.

PNG was reduced to 17 for 4 after 4.5 overs as Lisa Klokgieters did the damage in her first spell, but Pauke Siaka and Sibona Jimmy joined hands in a 45-run stand for the fifth wicket. Christine Erkelens dismissed both on her way to figures of 3 for 9 from her quota as PNG floundered at 89 for 9. Needing 17 for victory in 16 deliveries, Brenda Tau and Kari Seura saw it home in a tense finish, the winning run coming off the final delivery of the 40-over contest.