Media Release

Mehidy Hasan in the top 20 for the first time in his career

Australia can challenge India for the top spot in Tests when the teams meet for a four-Test series.

• A 4-0 series win for Australia will move them into No.1 position in Test rankings; India need to draw one Test to retain top spot

Mehidy Hasan has become Bangladesh’s highest-ranked bowler in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s Player Rankings for Test Bowlers after a stellar performance in the second Test against the Windies, which his side won by an innings and 184 runs on Sunday.

The 21-year-old off-spinner has leapfrogged Shakib Al Hasan (21st) and Taijul Islam (22nd) to achieve a career-high ranking of 16th after his figures of seven for 58 and five for 59 provided him a lift of 14 places.

Mehidy, who featured in the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016 held in Bangladesh, had started the series in 28th position, but had slipped to 30th after the Chittagong Test where he had managed only three wickets.

Mehidy is the only notable gainer in the bowling table, which is headed by Kagiso Rabada of South Africa, and followed by James Anderson of England and Pakistan’s Mohammad Abbas.

Shakib may have lost the status of being his side’s highest-ranked bowler, but he has gained seven places to become his team’s highest-ranked batsman.

Shakib scored 80 in his only innings, which has moved him from 28th to 21st position, five places ahead of Mominul Haque, who has dropped two places to 26th position.

Mushfiqur Rahim has plummeted seven places to 28th, but Mahmudullah has vaulted 15 places to a career-high 48th following his contribution of 136 in Bangladesh’s total of 508.

The only good news for the Windies was the movement of Shimron Hetmyer. Hetmyer, who led his side to the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup title in Bangladesh in 2016, has leaped 28 places to 52nd following scores of 39 and 93.

There is no change to the top-20 batting list, which is headed by India’s Virat Kohli. Steve Smith of Australia and Kane Williamson of New Zealand are second and third, respectively.

Meanwhile, top-ranked India take on fifth-ranked Australia in a four-Test series, which starts in Adelaide on Thursday, 6 December. India are on 116 points, while Australia are on 102 points. This difference of 14 points means India are expected to win the series comfortably and their failure to do so will result in the Asian side losing points.

If India win the series 4-0, they will move to 120 points while Australia will drop to 97 points. However, if the series result is reversed, then Australia will move into No.1 position on 110 points and India will slip to third on 108 points (0.065 behind England).

For India to successfully defend the top ranking, they will have to draw at least one Test. A 3-0 series result in Australia’s favour will mean the Asian side will be on 109 points and the home side will be on 108 points, while a 3-1 series win for Australia means they will finish on 107 points and India will end on 111 points.

The Test predictor function is available here, while the latest Test player rankings are available here.

Series schedule:

6-10 December – 1st Test, Adelaide
14-18 December – 2nd Test, Perth
26-30 December – 3rd Test, Melbourne
3-7 January – 4th Test, Sydney

MRF Tyres ICC Men’s Test Team Rankings (following the conclusion of Bangladesh v Windies series, before the start of Australia-India Test series)

2South Africa108
4New Zealand102
6Sri Lanka97
8West Indies70 (-6)
9Bangladesh69 (+8)

(Developed by David Kendix)

MRF Tyres ICC Test Player Rankings (as on 3 December, following the conclusion of Mirpur Test, before the start of Australia-India Test series)

BATSMEN (top 20)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsAvgeHighest Rating
1( - )Virat KohliInd93554.57937 v Eng at Southampton 2018
2( - )Steve SmithAus91061.37947 v SA at Durban 2018
3( - )Kane WilliamsonNZ87650.42893 v Aus at Perth 2015
4( - )Joe RootEng80750.44917 v Aus at Trent Bridge 2015
5( - )David WarnerAus80348.2880 v NZ at Perth 2015
6( - )C. PujaraInd76549.54888 v SL at Nagpur 2017
7( - )D. KarunaratneSL75337.6754 v SA at Colombo (SSC) 2018
8( - )Dean ElgarSA72441.05784 v Aus at Johannesburg 2018
9( - )Aiden MarkramSA703*47.27759 v Aus at Johannesburg 2018
10( - )Usman KhawajaAus69943.83747 v Pak at Sydney 2017
11( - )D. ChandimalSL69544.28755 v Win at St Lucia 2018
12( - )Azhar AliPak68344.47787 v Aus at Melbourne 2016
13( - )Ross TaylorNZ68246.59871 v Win at Hamilton 2013
14( - )Hashim AmlaSA67347.23907 v Pak at Abu Dhabi 2013
15( - )Faf du PlessisSA66542.33734 v Ind at Centurion 2018
16( - )Jonny BairstowEng65337.71772 v SA at Old Trafford 2017
17( - )Henry NichollsNZ644*!36.07644 v Pak at Dubai 2018
18( - )Jos ButtlerEng635!36.76635 v SL at Colombo (SSC) 2018
19( - )Ajinkya RahaneInd63341.4825 v NZ at Indore 2016
20( - )Kusal MendisSL62736.11693 v Win at St Lucia 2018


BOWLERS (top 20)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsAvgeHighest Rating
1( - )Kagiso RabadaSA88221.71902 v Aus at Port Elizabeth 2018
2( - )James AndersonEng87426.98903 v Ind at Lord's 2018
3( - )M. AbbasPak829*16.62838 v NZ at Abu Dhabi 2018
4( - )Vernon PhilanderSA82621.54912 v Ind at Johannesburg 2013
5( - )Ravindra JadejaInd81223.5899 v Aus at Ranchi 2017
6( - )Pat CumminsAus784*23.81800 v SA at Johannesburg 2018
7( - )R. AshwinInd77725.44904 v Eng at Mumbai 2016
8( - )Trent BoultNZ77228.07825 v Eng at Lord's 2015
9(+1)Yasir ShahPak75228.23878 v Eng at Lord's 2016
10(-1)Jason HolderWin751*28.5766 v Ind at Hyderabad 2018
11(+1)Josh HazlewoodAus74426.84863 v Ind at Bengaluru 2017
12(-1)Shannon GabrielWin74229.73757 v Ban at Jamaica 2018
13( - )Neil WagnerNZ74028.49785 v Win at Wellington 2017
14=( - )Nathan LyonAus70632.21774 v Eng at Adelaide 2017
 ( - )Tim SoutheeNZ70630.82799 v Win at Jamaica 2014
16(+14)Mehidy HasanBan696*!29.78696 v Win at Dhaka 2018
17(-1)Stuart BroadEng69429.04880 v SA at Johannesburg 2016
18(-1)Mitchell StarcAus69328.52805 v SA at Durban 2018
19(-1)Keshav MaharajSA692*27.65695 v Zim at Port Elizabeth 2017
20(-1)Dilruwan PereraSL689!31.49689 v Eng at Colombo (SSC) 2018

ALL-ROUNDERS (top five)

Rank(+/-)PlayerTeamPointsHighest Rating
1( - )Shakib Al HasanBan415489 v Aus at Mirpur 2017
2( - )Ravindra JadejaInd400438 v SL at Colombo (SSC) 2017
3(+1)Vernon PhilanderSA370378 v SL at Galle 2018
4(-1)Jason HolderWin365 /*381 v Ind at Hyderabad 2018
5( - )Ben StokesEng342396 v Win at Lord's 2017


*indicates provisional rating; a batsman qualifies for a full rating after playing 40 Test innings; a bowler qualifies for a full rating when he reaches 100 Test wickets.
!indicates career-highest rating

More Media Releases