Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Virat Kohli and Jasprit Bumrah

Kohli, Rohit, Bumrah get top BCCI contracts, Dhoni misses out

India news

Virat Kohli, along with Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, have been awarded Grade A+ central contracts by the BCCI while former India captain MS Dhoni has been left out of the list.

Dhoni, who has not played an international game since India's loss to New Zealand in the semi-final of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2019, does not feature in any of the four contract categories. He was a part of Grade A central contract last year.

Dinesh Karthik, Ambati Rayudu and Khaleel Ahmed have also been left out.

The 27-member list across Grade A+, A, B and C categories features new entrants Shreyas Iyer, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur and Washington Sundar, who have been handed Grade C contracts and Mayank Agarwal, whose bumper Test season last year has secured him a Grade B retainer.

KL Rahul has been elevated to Grade A from Grade B, while Test wicket-keeper Wriddhiman Saha now holds a Grade B contract from Grade C last year. 

Kohli, Sharma and Bumrah have been retained in their premium A+ category and wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant has retained his Grade A contract despite under-par performances.

The period for the new central contracts has been specified from October 2019 to September 2020.

The full list:

Grade A+ (INR 7 crore): Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

Grade A (INR 5 crore): Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant

Grade B (INR 3 crore): Wriddhiman Saha, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal

Grade C (INR 1 crore): Kedar Jadhav, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar


More News

Personalise your homepage with an ICC account

News, fixtures and updates tailored to your favourite team. Never miss a moment!