Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

Neesham added for second Test, Latham in as cover

Neesham is joined by Canterbury Wizard Tom Latham in the squad, who replaces Jesse Ryder as cover for Ross Taylor
Otago Volt Jimmy Neesham has been added to the New Zealand squad for the second Test match against India in Wellington beginning on Friday.  

Neesham is joined by Canterbury Wizard Tom Latham in the squad, who replaces Jesse Ryder as cover for Ross Taylor. Doug Bracewell is the other player to miss out in an otherwise unchanged squad from the victorious first Test at Eden Park in Auckland.  

New Zealand Cricket General Manager National Selection Bruce Edgar says that Neesham is not necessarily a straight replacement for Bracewell.  

“We see Jimmy as a genuine all-rounder who can play a number of roles for us. His form with both bat and ball in the Plunket Shield this season speaks for itself,” says Edgar. 

“We’ve been able to keep a settled side recently and strung together some successful results along the way. We hope to keep that going, but are well aware India will come back at us hard.”  

Latham could also feature in the playing XI, with Ross Taylor awaiting the birth of his second child. If the baby had not arrived by the start of the Test, Latham would come in for Taylor.   

“Tom’s an incredibly exciting prospect and is constantly pushing for selection. If called upon, we’re confident that he’ll take the opportunity with both hands.” 

Neither Bracewell nor Ryder were considered for selection following recent off-field issues. 


Brendon McCullum (c) - Otago Volts

Corey Anderson - Northern Knights

Trent Boult - Northern Knights

Peter Fulton - Canterbury Wizards

Tom Latham* - Canterbury Wizards

Jimmy Neesham - Otago Volts

Hamish Rutherford - Otago Volts

Ish Sodhi - Northern Knights

Tim Southee - Northern Knights 

Ross Taylor - Central Stags

Neil Wagner - Otago Volts 

BJ Watling - Northern Knights

Kane Williamson - Northern Knights

More News

Live Cricket

ICC on Social