Sri Lanka names final 15 man squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

At a Selection Committee meeting held on even date, the following squad was selected by the National Selectors for the above tournament.

Sachithra Senanayake and Lasith Malinga were named in Sri Lanka's 15-man squad for the 2015 World Cup on Wednesday(January 7).

Malinga last figured in an international fixture four months ago and his participation is subject to fitness.

The Angelo Mathews-led squad also features Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene, the experienced trio that was part of the team that finished runners-up at the 2011 edition in the subcontinent.

Alongside Lahiru Thirimanne, the vice-captain, Dimuth Karunaratne and Dinesh Chandimal, these three form the core specialist batting group, with Mathews, Thisara Perera and Jeevan Mendis  adding another dimension to the mix with their all-round abilities.

Malinga apart, the side has three other pacers in Dhammika Prasad, Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Kulasekara, with Rangana Herath, the left-arm spinner, completing the bowling unit with Senanayake, the offspinner.

Sri Lanka is placed in Pool A alongside England, Australia, New Zealand, Bangladesh, Scotland and Afghanistan.
They will kick off the tournament on the opening day against New Zealand at the Hagley Oval in Christchurch on February 14. To see the fixtures in full, please click here.

Sri Lanka Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:
Angelo Mathews (capt)
Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-capt)
Dimuth Karunaratne
Tillakaratne Dilshan
Kumar Sangakkara (wk)
Mahela Jayawardene
Dinesh Chandimal
Thisara Perera
Jeevan Mendis
Suranga Lakmal
Lasith Malinga
Dhammika Prasad
Nuwan Kulasekara
Rangana Herath
Sachithra Senanayake

More News

Live Cricket

ICC Events

1 June - 18 June 2017

No fixtures available.

Group A

Pos Team P NRR Pts
1 Australia 0 0.00 0
2 Bangladesh 0 0.00 0
3 England 0 0.00 0
4 New Zealand 0 0.00 0

Group B

Pos Team P NRR Pts
1 India 0 0.00 0
2 Pakistan 0 0.00 0
3 South Africa 0 0.00 0
4 Sri Lanka 0 0.00 0
Tournament Home


England Perfomance Polo
England Perfomance Polo
ICC Champions Trophy 2017
India T-Shirt
India T-Shirt
ICC Champions Trophy 2017
8 Nations Polo Shirt
8 Nations Polo Shirt
ICC Champions Trophy 2017
View Shop

ICC on Social