Official ICC App

Your App for international cricket. The official ICC app provides coverage across all of the current international action including fixtures, results, videos, ICC news, rankings and more. Don’t miss a moment and keep up with the latest from around the world of cricket!

New Zealand sweeps T20I series after Munro, Guptill turn it on

No. 3 batsman reaches half-century in 14 balls just 20 minutes after the opener had achieved the feat off 19 deliveries

New Zealand sped to a nine-wicket victory in the second Twenty20 International against Sri Lanka in Auckland on Sunday (January 10) after a whirlwind batting display from Martin Guptill and Colin Munro.

Munro brought up the winning runs with a six to remain unbeaten on 50 from 14 balls, the second fastest T20I half-century behind Yuvraj Singh’s 12-ball spree against England in 2007. Munro’s blitz also meant that the New Zealand record for the fastest T20I fifty, set by Guptill, who took 19 balls to get there at the top of the innings, lasted only 20 minutes.

Guptill was the only wicket to fall, out for 63 off 25 balls with six fours and five sixes, while Munro clouted seven sixes and one four, as New Zealand took exactly ten overs to get past the modest 143-run target, with Kane Williamson unbeaten on 32. 

The victory gave New Zealand a sweep of the series, as it won the T20Is 2-0 after having won the Tests 2-0 and the One-Day Internationals 3-1.

The result also meant that Sri Lanka slipped from No. 1 to No. 3, behind West Indies and Australia, in the ICC team rankings for T20Is

In the first half of the game, the Sri Lankan top order failed to click, as the team was all out for 142 with only Angelo Mathews showing any resistance with an unbeaten 81, his highest T20I score. Tillakaratne Dilshan with 28 was the only other Sri Lankan to reach double figures.

The chief destroyer was Grant Elliott with 4 for 22 in his first game back at Eden Park since his six off the penultimate ball against South Africa to get New Zealand into the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 final. Adam Milne and Mitchell Santner took two wickets apiece. 

More News

Live Cricket

ICC on Social