Heather Knight

Heather Knight to lead England in first Ashes ODI

England Women news

England's Heather Knight, who overcame a hamstring niggle, will lead the team in the three-match one-day international leg of the Women's Ashes, beginning 2 July.

England have announced their squad for the opening ODI of the multi-format Ashes, set to be played at Leicestershire's Grace Road ground, on 2 July. Skipper Heather Knight, who did not field in the second match of the recently concluded Twenty20 International series against West Indies, and was set to miss the rained-off third game, will lead the 14-member squad.

The 28-year old, who recently garnered 148 runs in three ODIs against West Indies, is looking forward to the Australian challenge. "We're massively excited now and we just want to get started," Knight said. "You play cricket for series like this, they're special, so we're all just raring to go."

The 14-member group is identical to the one picked ahead of the ODI series against West Indies. Fast bowler Katherine Brunt, too, returns from her back injury and will lead England's new-ball attack against Australia. 

You play cricket for series like this, they're special, so we're all just raring to go.

Heather Knight

"It wasn't an easy squad to pick. We've won 14 games in a row and during that time different people have performed and stuck their hand up. That bodes well for the Ashes and hopefully, we can maintain that form throughout this series," Knight said on the team's composition.

The previous Ashes, in 2017, ended in an 8-8 draw and saw Australia retain the urn, having also won the series in 2015. Knight seemed determined to turn the results this time around. "We're really happy with this group. There's a good feeling amongst us and we want to go out there and regain the Ashes. That's our primary focus for the next month," she added.

The three-match ODI series is followed by one Test match at Taunton, starting July 18, before three T20I fixtures.

England squad: Heather Knight (captain), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Jenny Gunn, Amy Jones, Laura Marsh, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Sarah Taylor (wk), Danni Wyatt

Live Cricket

ICC on Social