Sri Lanka Women's Shashikala Siriwardene
Womens World Cup

Siriwardene returns, Ranaweera captain for World Cup

News – SL squad for #WWC17

Sri Lanka Women recalls Ama Kanchana and Chandima Gunaratne for tournament

Shashikala Siriwardene, who has not played international cricket since the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 2016 in India due to injury, returned to the Sri Lanka Women squad for the ICC Women’s World Cup in England, starting on June 24. However, the former captain will not be leading the side.

Inoka Ranaweera, who was the captain when Sri Lanka finished third in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier at home earlier this year, has been retained as skipper.

Ama Kanchana, the right-arm medium pacer, and Chandima Gunaratne, the left-hand batter and left-arm spinner, also returned to the squad. While Kanchana has not represented Sri Lanka since November last year, Gunaratne’s last ODI came during Sri Lanka’s tour of India in February 2016.

Sri Lanka has named eight players who featured at the 2013 ICC World Cup.
Sri Lanka has named eight players who featured at the 2013 ICC World Cup.

Chamari Athapaththu, Nipuni Hansika, who impressed with her consistency during the qualifier, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Chamari Polgampola and Dilani Manodara form the core of Sri Lanka’s batting unit along with Siriwardene.

Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Oshadi Ranasinghe and Sripali Weerakkody are the main bowlers in the squad.

Sri Lanka starts its campaign against New Zealand Women in Bristol on the opening day of the tournament on June 24.

Squad: Inoka Ranaweera (capt), Chamari Athapaththu, Chandima Gunaratne, Nipuni Hansika, Ama Kanchana, Eshani Lokusuriyage, Harshitha Madhavi, Dilani Manodara, Hasini Perera, Chamari Polgampola, Udeshika Prabodhani, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Shashikala Siriwardena, Prasadani Weerakkody (wk) and Sripali Weerakkody


Live Cricket

ICC on Social