powered by

13 February 201516:50

2011 Cricket World Cup – In Numbers

As part of a daily series continuing the countdown to ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand, we look back at all 10 World Cups so far and their key numbers

2011 Cricket World Cup – In Numbers - Cricket News

(FILES) In this photograph taken on April 2, 2011, Indian batsman Sachin Tendulkar is carried on his teammates' shoulders after India defeated Sri Lanka in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 final played at The Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. India's record-breaking batsman Sachin Tendulkar on December 23, 2012 announced his retirement from one-day cricket, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said. AFP PHOTO/William WEST/FILES (Photo credit should read WILLIAM WEST/AFP/Getty Image

The tenth edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup was held between February19 and April 2, 2011. A total of 14 teams played across 13 venues in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka, and in the final hosts India beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium, to become only the third team after the West Indies and Australia to lift the World Cup trophy more than once, and the first to win a World Cup final on home soil. India’s win came 28 years after its first triumph in 1983.

This was also the tournament in which Australia’s streak of consecutive matches without defeat in World Cups ended at 34. Australia had lost a league match to Pakistan in 1999, and then gone undefeated for the remainder of that tournament and the next two World Cups. Australia’s title defence subsequently ended with defeat to India in the quarter-final.

Matches: 49

Total Runs Scored: 21333 runs

Total Wickets Taken: 731 wickets

Highest Run Scorers

Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka) (500 runs in nine matches)
Sachin Tendulkar (India) (482 runs in nine matches)
Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) (465 runs in nine matches)
Jonathan Trott (England) (422 runs in seven matches)
Upul Tharanga (Sri Lanka) (395 runs in nine matches)

Highest Wicket Takers

Shahid Afridi (Pakistan) (21 wickets in eight matches)
Zaheer Khan (India) (21 wickets in nine matches)
Tim Southee (New Zealand) (18 wickets in eight matches)
Robin Peterson (South Africa) (15 wickets in seven matches)
Muttiah Muralidharan (Sri Lanka) (15 wickets in nine matches)

Highest Scores

Virender Sehwag (175 for India against Bangladesh in Mumbai)
Andrew Strauss (158 for England against India in Bangalore)
Tillakaratne Dilshan (144 for Sri Lanka against Zimbabwe in Pallekele)
AB de Villiers (134 for South Africa against Netherlands in Mohali)
Upul Tharanga (133 for Sri Lanka against Zimbabwe in Pallekele)

Best Bowling Figures

Kemar Roach (6 for 27 for West Indies against Netherlands in Delhi)
Lasith Malinga (6 for 38 for Sri Lanka against Kenya in Colombo)
Shahid Afridi (5 for 16 for Pakistan against Kenya in Hambantota)
Shahid Afridi (5 for 23 for Pakistan against Canada in Colombo)
Yuvraj Singh (5 for 31 for India against Ireland in Bangalore)