ICC Live

CT 2017 - Buy Tickets - 300x250


What are your thoughts on this article?

Walsh, Garner, Heyhoe-Flint and Bedi inducted

The ICC and the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) tonight inducted Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner, Rachael Heyhoe Flint and Bishan Bedi into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

Courtney Walsh being inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame by fellow
ICC Hall of Famer Bishen Singh Bedi
The ICC and the Federation of International Cricketers' Associations (FICA) tonight inducted Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner, Rachael Heyhoe Flint and Bishan Bedi into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame.

West Indies fast bowlers Courtney Walsh and Joel Garner along with the late Ken Barrington of England were named to join the 60 male members of the Hall of Fame while England's Rachael Heyhoe Flint becomes the first woman to be inducted.

Walsh, Garner and Heyhoe Flint attended the LG ICC Awards this evening at the Grand Castle and were inducted by one of the original 55 inductees, Bishan Bedi who also received his commemorative cap this evening from ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat.

The late Ken Barrington will be inducted in the UK next summer in a ceremony involving the former batsman's family.

The ICC Cricket Hall of Fame is a joint venture with FICA set up in 2009, the ICC's Centenary year.

Former India spin bowler Bedi was part of the initial 55 inductees into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame in 2009 but was not able to receive his cap before tonight. The Punjab-born spinner represented his country in 67 Tests claiming 266 Test wickets at an average of 28.71.

Rachael Heyhoe Flint captained England's women to World Cup victory in 1973 and led the side in 12 unbeaten Test matches. She became the first woman to hit a six in a Test match in 1963 at the Oval against Australia and represented her country in 22 Test matches striking 1,594 runs at an average of 45.54.

Heyhoe Flint said of becoming the first female cricketer to be inducted: "I am absolutely thrilled to bits and if it helps to raise the profile to women's cricket then thank you to the ICC."

Former West Indies towering fast bowler Garner represented his country in 58 Test matches claiming 259 Test wickets and 98 ODIs taking 146 wickets. The Barbadian was part of the 1979 World Cup-winning West Indies side and his 5-39 in the final against England remains the best performance of a bowler in a World Cup final.

"The best part of cricket to keep loving the game of bowling and the game of cricket and I'm honoured to receive this award." said Garner

Jamaican Walsh represented the West Indies in 132 Tests and 205 ODIs and claimed 519 Test scalps and 227 ODI wickets in the process. The former fast bowler managed an incredible 22 five-fors in his career and five 10-wicket matches, while his Test economy rate was 2.53 and 3.83 in ODIs. Until 2004, Walsh was the only man to take 500 wickets in Test cricket and he is the only pace bowler to have bowled more than 5000 overs, in Test cricket.

Walsh said of his induction: "The most memorable part of my career was hearing my named called for the first time for West Indies and I'm honoured to have been named in the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame."

The LG ICC Awards ceremony is now in its seventh year and this year is being held in Bengaluru. Previous ceremonies were held in London (2004), Sydney (2005), Mumbai (2006), Johannesburg (2007 and 2009) and Dubai (2008).

*ICC Cricket Hall of Fame - initial inductees (55):

Sydney Barnes, Bishan Bedi, Alec Bedser, Richie Benaud, Allan Border, Ian Botham, Geoffrey Boycott, Donald Bradman, Greg Chappell, Ian Chappell, Denis Compton, Colin Cowdrey, Kapil Dev, Sunil Gavaskar, Lance Gibbs, Graham Gooch, David Gower, WG Grace, Tom Graveney, Gordon Greenidge, Richard Hadlee, Walter Hammond, Neil Harvey, George Headley, Jack Hobbs, Michael Holding, Leonard Hutton, Rohan Kanhai, Imran Khan, Alan Knott, Jim Laker, Harold Larwood, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Clive Lloyd, Hanif Mohammad, Rodney Marsh, Malcolm Marshall, Peter May, Javed Miandad, Keith Miller, Bill O'Reilly, Graeme Pollock, Wilfred Rhodes, Barry Richards, Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts, Garfield Sobers, Brian Statham, Fred Trueman, Derek Underwood, Clyde Walcott, Everton Weekes, Frank Woolley, Frank Worrell.

2009 Inductees:

Herbert Sutcliffe, Steve Waugh, Wasim Akram, Victor Trumper, Clarrie Grimmett.

2010 Inductees

Rachael Heyhoe Flint, Ken Barrington, Courtney Walsh, Joel Garner.

Similar Articles